Front Royal Warning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Front Royal
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I recently returned from a trip and took my car in for a state inspection in Front Royal, Virginia. The town has found a new way to raise revenue! They have criminalized behavior that is legal elsewhere in the state. If your inspection expires while you are out of the state, it is a CRIMINAL OFFENSE ($250 fine) to take it to be inspected. If you have a Federal job with strict security requirements (as I did), you also lose your job - because you have been issued a traffic ticket (for taking your car to be inspected). I pointed out to the arresting officer that the Governor of Virginia gives me 24 hours after my return on the State Police web site. The response was: "Oh we don't pay any attention to HIM! Here's your ticket - PAY UP!!" I also witnessed a young lady assessed a $200 fine (in court) for making 3 turns without using her turn signal. This occurred at an early hour of the morning (well out of peak traffic). If you don't want to be robbed by the police, i'd stay away. I plan to in the future! Cheers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb