Rest day in Charlottesville


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The RotundaThe RotundaThe Rotunda

Central Focus point of the original Academic Village at University of Virginia. Founded on October 6, 1817 by Thomas Jefferson in the presence of three presidents; Jefferson, James Madison and James Monroe.
Today was a scheduled and welcome day off. The forecast was rain most of the day, so I wasn’t anxious to get back on my bike anyway.

My host family JoAnn and David Dalley were a delightful couple. My downstairs arrangement was perfect and I very much enjoyed their company.
JoAnn is a Master Gardner and avid bird watcher. David is a bicycle nut like me.
Thank you both for such a wonderful stay!

Montpellier was where I had planned to go but between my legs asking for rest and the rain I decided on plan B.

Thanks to their sweet and helpful daughter Rachel’s guidance, I set out exploring the city.

I must say that Charlottesville is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visited.
Homes were built here between the trees and old growth forest is everywhere. The birds are thriving and their songs are ringing out everywhere one goes.

I walked from the Dalley’s home about a mile or so to the University of Virginia. Turns out it was graduation day and people were everywhere. Despite the chaos I did manage to get a look at the original campus and what the students and faculty call “The Lawn”. The focal point is the Rotunda.

After my quick tour, I jumped on the Free shuttle into the Historic center of the city.

Historic Charlottesville is a four block mall consisting of Restaurants, Shoppes and nightlife. On the second floor are lots of LOFT’s.
As I have experienced from the start, everyone here is really nice.

It was a wonderful day off and I am ready for what David warns me is a grueling climb up to the Blue Ridge parkway.

I’ll find out tomorrow how the legs really feel.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

This is on the corner of the CourthouseThis is on the corner of the Courthouse
This is on the corner of the Courthouse

Jefferson, Madison and Monroe
The Dalley’s homeThe Dalley’s home
The Dalley’s home

I had a wonderful stay.


20th May 2018

Love the photos Thank you
Realtor in Austin Texas and Friends of Ann
20th May 2018
Another part of the Campus

FROM YOUR FAVORITE COUSIN
Pilotbob! Pilotbob! You are like the 9th Wonder of the Bike World. I will be your Wingman when you get to Rawlins. So admire your strength and tenacity and your dedication to our Veterans. Love you!
23rd May 2018
Another part of the Campus

Thanks Cuz
So glad you are reading my blog!

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb