Semper Fi, Marathoners!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Arlington
October 29th 2006
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Big balloons for starting pointBig balloons for starting pointBig balloons for starting point

Can I take one of them home?
Semper Fidelis
‘Always faithful’
- United States Marine Corps motto

Being committed to a marathon seems to be a straightforward business of running a 26.2 miles course. At least this is one naïve assumption I’ve had, signing up for the 2006 Marine Corps Marathon in early spring. And of course, as it turned out, the marathon business is slightly more complicated than I have originally thought, as I learned from my training program in the past 20+ weeks.

This is a word of wisdom from a marathoner.

The hardest part of embracing the challenge is to get to the starting line, assuming that during the life of training, no unexpected things happen such as physical injuries, which is unfortunately a prevalent result for most first time trainees. Vigorous exercise schedule to which I adhere consists of daily runs and weekend long runs, with goals of adding running mileage and training my body to cope with the shock during the main event. During this period of training, I added roughly 800 miles to my running log - that’s a damn long run from Atlanta to Boston, or London to Rome, or one and a half the length of
Iwo Jima MonumentIwo Jima MonumentIwo Jima Monument

Courtesy of marathonfoto.com. I paid almost 100 bucks for these images, and of course I can use them as my personal use (blog)
Java Island.

Why did I choose to participate in this marathon, not the bigger ING New York Marathon or the famous Chicago La Salle Marathon? Simply enough: I have respects for the United States Marine Corps.

United States Marine Corps’ proud history was spiced up by its first official marathon in 1975. Often referred as ‘People’s Marathon’ due to its openness to everybody and no grand prize to be given out to the winners (except the rights to brag for a year if you’re a finisher), this year’s race attracts 34,000 runners from all fifty states and more than forty countries, and at least 120,000 spectators. The Marine Corps Marathon is the fifth biggest in the United States, and the eighth in the world. Another nickname is ‘Marathon of the Monuments due to its nature of ‘Grand Tour’ routing through Washington, D.C. Not so bad for a quick look of the nation’s capital though my race, the Marine Corps Marathon.

I’m proud of my race.

My race? I can proudly say that this is my race, not because I created or organized the event, but simply because it’s my first marathon. Just like a baby’s first cry, first walk, and teenager’s first kiss; everything feels so magical for the first time. The first marathon is a mythical benchmark in a runner’s life, proving that he is capable of answering the biggest challenge yet, devotedly going through a stringent training program, which is echoing the values of the Corps to remain "Always Faithful".


Marathon Day. Ouch.

Contrary to cold and rainy Friday and Saturday, the marathon day started out with a somewhat perfect weather, slightly nipply temperature in the lower 40s. 6.30am. It was not a problem for Jason, Correnn and I, riding the Metro from the end of blue line of Franconia/Springfield, which was packed with excited runners and spectators. Metro was opened today at 5 am to cater the event.

The Marathon's starting line was located at Route 110 by the Arlington Cemetery in Virginia. There were three waves of runners, which the first one had completed twelve hours prior the other two, in Anbar Province of Iraq which was conducted by 100+ Marines on Duty and was broadcasted through satellite. The second scarlet wave, which I belonged to, was schedule to start at 8:35am, and the last of gold wave
Cy and medalCy and medalCy and medal

Cy wants to feel the glorious medal around his neck.
to be fifteen minutes after scarlet. Along with the 'regular' marathon, the wheelchair division started before ours, and the 10K and kid's one mile fun run started right after the gold wave.

I was a little intimidated to find out that my 1824 BIB number landing on a box full of dedicated runners who are bound for Boston. Soon I discovered right after we took off, that most of them are fast runners, surely and strongly passing me in less time than 7 minutes/mile pace. I was ‘riding along’ with them, and I finished up the first nine miles within sixty-three minutes, which soon working for my disadvantage.

Mile 1 and 2 consist of meandering through historic Rossyln, which is pretty steep, as the elevation diagram indicated at the website. Fortunately I was training in hilly Atlanta streets, which can be an advantage for warming up pretty quickly. Mile 3 and 4 were a piece of cake, as it levels itself down to the original elevation. Riding the gravity, I thought to myself, and I am good to go to Boston, which is every marathoners’ dream to pursue, although my intention of finishing this marathon is less than
Marine Corps MarathonMarine Corps MarathonMarine Corps Marathon

La la la I will run run run.
four hours limit.

Not long after that, we started to cross the Francis Scott Key Memorial Bridge, indicating our route entering the Metro D.C. area to Georgetown and then Rock Creek Parkway. Here is a disadvantage of having one single road lead to one point before turning back, as while you run at your own route; you can see the other side of the road is used for the runners to coming back after turning around. Where is the turning point?. Passed Mile 7. Then Mile 8. (Turn around). Then Mile 9.

Mile 10, turning left by the infamous Watergate complex, and we finally approached the corner of the National Mall, east of the Lincoln Memorial. Ah, this is where most of spectators were waiting for us.

The Marathon must've been very entertaining for some 120,000 spectators along the route, as they were supporting, cheering and watching us dying, trying our best to finish up our obligated 26.2 miles. They were holding big banners supporting us runners, and some were ringing cowbells. Some cheerings such as, “Go runners, you’re doing good”, “You can do it, man”, “Semper Fi, Marines”, "Hey looking good ladies" and “Go [insert your
Marines in CamoMarines in CamoMarines in Camo

Don't piss them off, now.
name]” were heard throughout the marathon. Some runners had their names written on their shirt, so spectators could read them and cheer; a good way to keep up with your effort, as most runners wouldn’t give up if they are cheered on. In several occasion, some nations’ flags were flying amongst the crowd, so it is fun to hear some “Canada, eh”, “Deutchland”, “G’day Australia” and “Oy, England” coming from respective runners responding to the flags.

This was where our fatigue started to inhabit our deep muscles as our bodies started to scream in agony. And I have to admit that spectators and supports were greatly appreciated to complete this marathon.

Running through the National Mall was the grand tour every runner was waiting for. Although there was no time to mosey around, we could see most of the famous monuments and structures from the corner of our eyes. Lincoln Memorial, Smithsonian Castle, WWII, Washington Monument, US Capitol, American Indian Museum, and Natural History Museum, were passing by pretty distinctively. At the end, Jefferson Memorial marks mile 15 of our journey, leaving the Mall and the Tidal Basin and entering the Park to the tip of Hans Point.
Before ...Before ...Before ...

Right before going to the starting line, a little cold with shorts and short sleeve shirts. Compare it with 'the after' pic.


Special thanks for Jason, Correnn and Sandy for their supports, companion and willingness to share. Guys, if you weren’t there holding that Sandy’s home-made sign of my name and taking pictures, I probably couldn’t do it.

Up till this point I have tried my best to be a crowd pleaser. Spectators need some form of entertainment as well, you know, from the runners. Entertaining should go both directions. So every time I passed a silent crowd of people with no cheering, I raised both my hands and waived them asking for cheering, C'mon, and then the crowd always started to cheer. RAH RAH RAH.

Around Mile 17, my thighs started to cramp up and I was questioning my belief of finishing this marathon easily. I have to keep it going, man, I thought. The West Potomac Park was unbelievably long and bare, with road is sandwitch between the pretty Potomac River on the right and wooded area on the left. Mile 18, at the tip of the Park dubbed as ‘Hans Point’, finally I came face to face with the famous “The Awaking” sculpture, which mimicking my expression of agony as the big giant is either submerge
Starting lineStarting lineStarting line

Packed with some 32,118 excited runners and 120,000 spectators.
or drown from the ground. I’ve read about the sculpture before, and it was eerie to discover on how similar his expression and mine was.

Mile 20, crossing a bridge back to Arlington, VA side. This was when it gets interesting, as both of my inner thighs took control by cramping up. What are you doing, dude, we never run this long before, said them. I’m sorry, buddy, I tried to justify on what’s going on, but let’s do it together for another 6 miles. Just for another damn six miles. I flashed back, reviewing on what have gone wrong my marathon training program. I wish it consisted a long run more than 'only' 20 miles to be closer to the reality of 26.2 miles. Wish I didn’t skip out some of the running days. Wish I could keep it going without walk in some of the runs. Regrets cut deeper and deeper, and I was forced to slow down significantly from my 7 minutes/mile to 8:30 minutes/mile pace. Bye-bye Boston, it wasn't a good situation. Dad gum. No more 3:10, and I was back to my old goal of finishing it less than four hours.

Crystal City which dictates mile 21-24 was a hell of a journey for me. Although it seems to be an interesting place to explore (outside the race) with posh stores and shopping district, it will always carry the stigma as a miserable place for me, as I had to stop in several occasions for stretching out my cramped up thighs and left kneecap, which at that point started to give up as well. Spectators were packed along the streets of Crystal City.

Official water stations were located roughly about every two miles, with choices of water or Powerade, handled out by Marines wearing their camos. Unfortunately it feels like we need more water stations, especially in time of needs of dehydration and low spirits. Angels appeared in forms of DC spectators, who were handling out fresh cut fruits and cups of Gatorade, along with water and cookies, candies and energy beans to runners. In addition to cramping up, I was highly dehydrated and starved at this point, and it got worse when I ran limping by a Starbucks in Crystal City. I wish I had some five bucks on my pocket right now to get in and get my usual grande
Where is Halef?Where is Halef?Where is Halef?

A couple minutes prior to the starting time of 8:35 am.
light Ice Vanilla Latte ….

Silly me, I accepted a ginger cookie from a lady in Scooby Doo costume. Run while chewing dried cookies, then got chocked in front of many spectators cheering for you wasn’t a pretty experience. So with no water station within reach, I grind my teeth and forced myself to run for another one mile to finally chug a cup of water, releasing some of dry cookie crumbs down my throat.

I cannot recall many things during mile 24-25-ish, except it was a stretch of boring highway with no scenic view to remember. And we were passing by the Pentagon, which has its own security system. It’s only one and a half mile left to go, I tried to encourage myself. As my spirit was still high, my thighs and kneecaps were numb. I tried to concentrate on slogans I've seen throughout the race on people's shirts. 'Quit anytime. Most do'. 'Pain is temporary, pride is forever'. 'Hoorah'.

Mile 26! What a celebration amongst runners to see the mile marker, only .2 miles to go! I could even running this distance while I sleep, so with high spirit, I screamed it to fellow
Halef Rocks?  I wishHalef Rocks?  I wishHalef Rocks? I wish

Thanks Sandy for making the signage for me. And Cy is cheering with them as well.
walking runners (? some definition problems here) C’MON WE ALL FINISH IT STRONG! I made some more runners spent our last energy to run the finish line. Not walking it. Where the hell is the finish line? (Turn) Is it it? (Another turn). It was the longest stretch I can recall.

It was a big relief when I finally crossed the finish line at 3:57:36. In a nearby hill, the Iwo Jima Marine Corps Memorial stands proudly, reminding all runners of the sacrifice we all made for our goals and what we believe in. I just completed a freakin’ marathon! As all the runners approaching the finishing tent and picture stage, a Marine stood at the end of the line and finally it was my turn to receive the finisher’s medal. The Marine’s “Good job, Sir” didn’t do the justice; it was more than a relief, an emotional of struggling, achievement, and honor. In a nearby stage, bagpipes were playing a somber Marine Corps hymn, filling runners with pride for not only their accomplishments, but for their country and their Corps.

Meanwhile, I still can hear the Marine Corps hymn echoing in my ears.
From the Halls of
The National MallThe National MallThe National Mall

This is me during the course. I still have a lot of energy after mile 10, but not for long. At least for posing this pic.
Montezuma, to the Shores of Tripoli
We will fight our country’s battles, in the air, on land, and sea.
First to fight for right and freedom, and to keep our honor clean
We are proud to claim the title of the United States Marines.


Arlington National Cemetery

What else do you do in a Sunday afternoon in Arlington, VA, after finishing a marathon? Sandy, Jason and I decided to visit the Arlington National Cemetery, which is within walking distance from the Marathon’s finishing line in Iwo Jima Monument. Limping but proud, having my medal around my neck for the rest of the day, as the rest of proud finishers. The cemetery was exactly what I've had in mind, rows of white grave tombs, JFK’s eternal flame which was lit up by Jacqueline Kennedy in his 1963 funeral, Robert E. Lee house with long history of his dilemma of Union/Confederate decision, Pierre L’Enfant grave overlooking D.C., and finally the Tomb of Unknown Soldiers, guarded by soldier in a precise ritual for 24-7-365.

Little did I know that a fellow runner passed away at Mile 17 today, as he got a heart attack at the age of 57.
Me runningMe runningMe running

Courtesy of marathonfoto.com. I paid almost 100 bucks for these images, and of course I can use them as my personal use (blog)
This marks second death in 31 years of Marine Corps Marathon history.


My Marathon result

(From the official Marine Corps Marathon website result)
Start. 8:35:14 am EST
5 Mile 0:35:18
10 Mile 1:11:19
Half 1:35:26
15 Mile 1:50:51
20 Mile 2:38:16
23.5 Mile 3:16:44
FINISH 03:57:36
Chip time 03:57:36. Clock: 03:57:48. Pace: 9:03
Placement Overall:3887. Gender:3041. Division:469

Avg. finisher's time 5:01:15. According to a unconfirmed source, less than 1%!A(MISSING)mericans ever completed a marathon. And I just finished one within a respectable time frame. Ain't that sound good to hear?

Surely I'm planning on doing it again next year, nothing to be scared of now. Meanwhile I will keep the training going for the next marathon, the ING Georgia Marathon that will be happening on 25 March 2007.

Semper Fi, Marathoners!



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mile unknownMile unknown
Mile unknown

I guess you can see the tip of my head trying to run around the corner of mile 19(?). Ah, this marathon is freakin' long ...
Sandy and JasonSandy and Jason
Sandy and Jason

Credit goes to these guys, with Correnn behind the camera. They are very supportive, I couldn't do it without ya'll.
Finishers fotoFinishers foto
Finishers foto

Courtesy of marathonfoto.com. I paid almost 100 bucks for these images, and of course I can use them as my personal use (blog)
After ...After ...
After ...

It looks like I lost a lot of weight after burning some 4,000 calories. That blanket is warm, and the finisher's medal is even warmer.
Robert E. Lee houseRobert E. Lee house
Robert E. Lee house

Robert E. Lee's house at the Arlington Cemetery, before he 'betrayed' the Union and joined the Confederate Army.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The eternal flame lit up by Jacky Kennedy during JFK's funeral.
JFK graveJFK grave
JFK grave

Me in front of the Kennedy's graves.
Tomb of Unknown SoldiersTomb of Unknown Soldiers
Tomb of Unknown Soldiers

A soldier guarding Tomb of Unknown Soldiers 24-7.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The famous row of Arlington Cemetery.
OuchOuch
Ouch

A little tight here.


31st October 2006

Congrats!!! Can't wait till March!
31st October 2006

Good Job
Good Job on the Marathon and all the hard work that went into it, the blog is nice!
1st November 2006

Congrats
Congrats on completing the 2006 Marine Corps Marathon - GREAT JOB - I knew you could do it.
15th November 2006

Congratz!
You still amaze me! Another marthoner that I know woke up late, start halfway and finally took a cab. Hehe...next time you do a marathon, do a detour to ohio, will ya? ;p CONGRATZ lef!!!
19th December 2006

I'm Getting MARRIED!
hey Halef, I know we haven't talked in a while but guess what I'm getting MARRIED!!! To Craig it's about time isn't it. The wedding is this spring April 28th! I want to put you on the guest list and Ryan Hardy as well but I have lost contact with you guys. Please send me your address I would love for you guys to come and hopefully we can do some catching up. Talk to you soon. Carrie Klann

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb