"COUNTRY ROADS TAKE ME HOME"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Waterbury
October 25th 2013
Published: October 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

North Conway (11)North Conway (11)North Conway (11)

The pnd behing the resort.
Yes - good old John Denver - Suz is a great DJ - she has playlists with Abba and Queen and Babs and John Denver, Roy Orbisob and Glen Campbell, Ella Fitzgerald ( all my favourites) ... and we while away the hours singing along as we drive the country roads... knowing eventually they will take us "home" wherever that happens to be at the time.

Those very picturesque country tourist maps with pics of mountains and rivers and shops and cafes etc are very cute to look at but sometimes can lead you astray but what the heck in the end we are discovering the highways and byways of New Hampshire White Mountains as we bool along and I think we have by now driven every roads there is in this region.

But yesterday we strayed further afield - a very nice drive across state to Vermont towards Stowe and due to Suzanne's careful and meticulous planning we happened to get to Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory !!!!! So we had to take a tour and learn about how they make their ice cream and what a very good socially responsible company they are .... I will
North Conway (10)North Conway (10)North Conway (10)

Sugar in the maples makes this lovely red colour.
only buy their ice-cream from now on !!! And it tatstes real good - we got free samples of course.

The trees are losing their leaves day by day but it is still so beautiful and we have been lucky with only one grey rainy day and that was the day we had to go to the outlet stores and buy things ....well they were such bargains !!!! At last I got a padded vest/gilet only $20 at GAP....and some sweaters at Ralph Lauren ...cheap cheap cheap.

So we have been ticking off the covered bridges and the waterfalls and generally driving up roads we like the look of ...I think we have been through Bartlett ( a ski resort in winter) about 10 times and up and down the Kancamagus Highway. Views everywhere to photograph and then hours of sifting through them and editing so that I can put the best on here !!!Suz says it gives me something to do!! And now that Suz has shown me how to use Snapseed I have to put frames round all my pics too !!! It's becoming obsessive!!!

We are leaving here tomorrow heading for the Maine Coast and have 2 days to drive to Boston where we will spend the last night before I fly home and Suz busses to the Big Apple.

So if I get wifi again hopefully I will have photos of Maine but in the meantime here we are on our trip to Vermont and around North Conway.

Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

North Conway (7)North Conway (7)
North Conway (7)

That's me on the bridge
Ben & Jerry's Vermont (13)Ben & Jerry's Vermont (13)
Ben & Jerry's Vermont (13)

A graveyard for expired icecreams !!!


25th October 2013

Lovely autumn.
STUNNING COLOURS. LOOKS FABULOUS. How about a pic of you gals together? catch a friendly local. safe trip home. xxx love the gilet- very posh! and ralph lauren - yes I managed to grab a couple of pieces in a sale- classic darling!
25th October 2013

thanks
wonderful pictures ....enjoy and happy travels
25th October 2013

Ben and Jerry
Glad you had time to stop for the tour. They are well known in our country for running a responsible organization. The leaves are fantastic. I'm so glad you are getting all the wonderful colors. Enjoy the country roads along with those fantastic songs.
26th October 2013

Award winning photography
I have SO enjoyed your blog once again!! Glyn says that I should start one myself but I say you have set the standard so high I could never achieve. Vermont is a place I have always wondered about. Maybe one day. Thanks for the email reply. We have all settled down again now until January. Have a safe trip home and Suz a great time in N/Y. Love from both Jocelyn & Mac xx

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb