Work hard/play hard: Getting the Master's in Vermont


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Montpelier
June 22nd 2010
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Montpelier, Norwich University


Walking across the stage and finally experiencing the moment of holding my degree. At long last, a two year journey of late nights, working through lunches, being a student while being on vacation, it has all come to an end. As of this posted date, my next work hard/play hard destination was in Vermont to finish my Master’s program, as well as celebrate. Now that my future trips and adventures will be true in name, absent of homework and papers, does this mean my travelblog entries will change as well? An answer only possible to find with the passage of time.

Over the past two years, Norwich proved to be a very positive option for me. While I wanted to gain a Master’s in my field, this one being in Diplomacy with a Conflict Resolution focus, it was quite difficult to find that option while living overseas. After much searching and evaluating, I decided to go with an on-line program, with the best (and most expensive) being through Norwich. This University, being the first military one within the US, dates back to 1819. With the US military expansion during and post WW I, the university has of course been expanding as well. Over the past 10 years, working to make on line degrees, for military personal on active duty, as well as civilians has gone from birth to fast development. Fortunately for me, my timing worked out to enter this program while it was fresh, but having gone through many of the growing pains.

Often I have been asked, was an on-line program worth the time? My response is that it can be, but it all depends. First and foremost, a person will get out from the program what they put into it. You are on your own in many more ways, as compared to being on campus. Thus, deciding to finish all readings, engage in conversations and go beyond what is required is always a personal choice. A second factor for myself that made this valuable was my academic atmosphere. Working within international schools in which many of my classes are either university prep, or counting as credit for universities, I was in a climate with collogues and students in which the ideas that were presented to me were able to be discussed and evaluated. This was a huge aid, and I could not imagine going through the
Capital city of MontpelierCapital city of MontpelierCapital city of Montpelier

The smallest of the 50 state capital, but still enough fun for one week.
program without being in such a conducive learning arena. Last, I do get a nice salary raise. It will take around 5 years for the degree to pay itself off, but once that day comes, I begin to receive the extra pay. Of course though, I am now able to work in higher levels and places than before. All in all, I found this program to be a great synthesizing process of all my past lessons within the broad field of social sciences. Does this mean I’ll move outside the profession of teaching? Hmm, it’s difficult to imagine not having summers off, but you never really know.

What about Vermont? Well, very peaceful and beautiful. I did spend a night enjoying what the nation’s smallest capital can offer. There were some good drinks and pleasant people! Hopefully the pictures reveal the calm aura that the green rolling hills, thick forests and white barn homes that poke out can bring to a more laid back state. While I only spent 5 days in Vermont, with most of the time being either in class or sleeping off jet lag, I’m going to have to keep the description to a minimum. As for meeting my fellow students and celebrating our success, I left Vermont knowing beyond a doubt I made the right choice in continuing my education through Norwich.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



27th September 2010

Congratulations!
27th September 2010

thanks!
30th October 2011

congratulations
Well done! one step closer of becoming the future diplomat!
13th November 2011

Thanks
Ha, thanks for the kind words, but we'll see what happens.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb