Utah, We Love Thee (state song)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
October 13th 2009
Published: October 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Staying in Boulder for two weeks worked out thanks to Joe’s hospitality and my own need for daily yoga, “job thinking” and space. The majority of my time was spent taking fitness classes, watching half a season of Firefly and pirating internet from Barnes and Noble (and sometimes Panera just for variety). Boulder is tucked into the beautiful Rocky Mountain foothills that are glowing with fall colors this time of year, so when I wearied of sitting at the computer, the environment was A+.

A quick decision to leave Colorado led me to Mystic Hot Springs - an amazing natural spring with bathing pool, tubs and spectacular Utah vistas. I spent a morning soaking, reading and fathoming how such a retreat could exist. Aunt Mary Ellen recommended the springs to me as she had spent the weekend before at the same spot.

Onward to Piute State Park (it happened to be my private beach for the day!) which has possibly the most beautiful lake in existence. Jagged cliffs rise high above the lake, the creamy sand, the explosive yellow aspens, and the sand’s scraggly vegetation. The lake has turned a shade white from the calcium carbonate on the shorelines
Mystic Hot SpringsMystic Hot SpringsMystic Hot Springs

view from the tubs
but definitely seems swimable during the summer. This is a must-see if Utah ever calls.

All this nature is becoming exhausting - but I met with Aunt MaryEllen to explore Bryce Canyon and Zion Canyon National Parks for 5 days this weekend. Bryce, in my opinion, is a way cool park without the massive tourbus crowds you encounter at Zion. We hiked, we camped, we stargazed, we saw sunrises and sunsets, we learned, we drove scenic byways, and we peed constantly (all that water to stay hydrated!).

AME is a soil scientist so today I was an Earth Team volunteer working alongside her on her soil mapping project. I helped dig 4-5 foot holes, tested and described soils and walked along the Vermillion Cliffs in Kanab, UT. What a government job! Soil isn’t my interest but working outdoors with the sun rising was sweet.

This marks the end of Utah and the beginning of the California journey. Next week I start a two week vipassana meditation retreat at the Dhamma Mahavana center in North Fork, CA. This will be two weeks of 8-10 hours of daily meditation, total silence and an intimidating 4am wake up call. Website: http://www.mahavana.dhamma.org/ I feel excited and nervous about the retreat. And relief, I feel relieved that at least I know where I’ll be sleeping for two weeks 😊 I wrote that just for you Dad.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bryce Canyon National ParkBryce Canyon National Park
Bryce Canyon National Park

the little tree that could
Pink Coral Sand Dunes State Park Pink Coral Sand Dunes State Park
Pink Coral Sand Dunes State Park

Another amazing Utah State Park with rolling coral sand dunes under red rock cliffs


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb