09 WCT Day 13 - Trek Across UT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
September 27th 2009
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 13 - Sunday - 27 SEPT - Ely to Farmington



It was an awesome ride today. There isn’t a lot to write about on this leg. I didn’t stop to see anything cute along the way. I was mainly just riding to get a bunch of miles behind me. I traveled almost 600 miles. Temps in the morning was 43F, later in the afternoon it was over 100F I think the day ended with it in the 60s. I missed getting into the 4 corners monument by just a few minutes, they were locking the gates as I rode up. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone traveling I-70 East through UT stop at every scenic pullout. The one I didn’t stop at had to be the best one. By the time I saw what was going to be viewed I was too late to make the turn out and there was nowhere to stop if you missed the pullout. Once I was in UT gas was not a problem. I thought in the more remote areas around 4 corners it would be hard to find but I think it was at least every 50 miles. I stopped at the Travellers Inn for the night in Farmington NM, $43 total for the night, good WiFi too. Today was 5 states. I did a little jaunt over to AZ to pick it up for my ABCs of Touring. As I called in and talked to Carol to let her know where I was and where I was heading she chastized me for not stopping anywhere interesting to see. She told me to take that extra day and see some things on the way home. So I sat at the computer making another route home.

594 miles for the day. Effies odometer says 125223 miles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

UT SceneryUT Scenery
UT Scenery

I wouldn't want to make a living here but passing through refreshes the soul.
New ignition location.New ignition location.
New ignition location.

Man, I love it here. It is so much easier!


Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb