09 WCT Day 2 - Denver to Wendover


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Wendover
September 16th 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 - Wednesday

It was a bit more enjoyable as I was traveling roads I had never ridden before. I had time to stop along the way to enjoy the views and take some pictures. Who wouldn’t want to take a leisurely ride thru CO. I left as Kay and Jackie were getting ready to leave. I wanted to get an early start so I was on the road by 7AM. It was nippy in the mountains 43F for a couple hours. By the end of the day I was HOT. There were several places that I pulled over to take some pictures. The views were great. The roads were just great! I had to stop a couple times to rearrange the load I had on Effie. This was the first time I needed to take a sleeping bag and pillow with me.

Traveling through Steamboat Springs CO I noticed that Abe Lincoln, Ben Franklin, Mark Twain along with Huck and Becky were hanging out at the benches in front of one of the stores.

I ate lunch at a Sinclair station, just got a meatball sandwich from their deli. It was really good. I walked around a little as I ate it. The station had the typical green dino out front but had installed a saddle on it. The weather was great most of the day. I had stopped in CO shortly after getting on I-70 west because the roads were wet and it wasn't looking good in the sky. But it never rained on me. I rode the rest of the day with my rain pants on because they are such a hassle to pull off.

One of the stops was when the odometer displayed 123456 miles. I lucked out because it really a neat area. I ended up taking some pics of Effie next to an old fence and livestock loading ramp.

Dinosaur UT had a bunch of dinosaurs around town. I stopped and took a picture of a couple of them.

As I rode the interstate between Salt Lake City and Wendover I noticed the salt had lines of rocks. Pretty soon I realized they were laid out in designs. Some were names some were hearts or other symbols. I stopped to take a couple pictures of them.

It was really a great day of riding. Awesome, just Awesome.

I arrived in Wendover around 8PM. The rest of the Dakin crew was already there and waiting for me. As soon as I showered we headed over across the street to eat. It was a little mom and pop mexican cafe.

Early to bed because it was going to be early to rise.

626 miles for the day.
Effies odometer is 123798 miles.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb