Capitol Reef


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Torrey
July 27th 2015
Published: July 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning totally confused because the black out blinds were amazing and the AC made the room icy cold, for a good few seconds I was sure I was back in England in winter and this whole trip was a dream! I packed up, filled my cooler with ice (usually I only half fill it but the lady on reception was tutting at me for making noise by the ice machine... So I made sure I filled it riiiight up ha!) I drove north and then west towards Capitol Reef National park. I have read quite a lot about this park and I was excited to find all the quiet hikes and stunning vistas that people talked about. I went (as always) to the visitors centre to get maps and find out where the best places are with good views and plenty of solitude. The ranger was nice enough but I heard her give the same advice to three people in front of me who all asked wildly different questions. I found the hike she recommended loaded up my bag with water and my camera and set off along the 3.5 mile moderately easy trail. The trail followed a dried up river bed through a narrow canyon. The problem was that the sun was right overhead and at first there was no breeze and absolutely no shade. The heat was bouncing off the walls and the ground and it was tough. I passed a few people who just stopped in their tracks and turned around. Then, when I was far away as I could possibly be, feeling hot, gross and very smug that I had prevailed where others had failed I heard a "hello again!" I turned around to see the family who I met in the wilderness at Canyonlands. We had a really good chat in a tiny patch of shade and apparently they are doing a similar thing to me and are also looking for the most remote out of the way tourist free trails they can find. They were gutted that nobody told them about the hike I went on yesterday but will be in Bryce tomorrow like I am so perhaps we will meet again. As I was walking back to the trailhead it really started to get windy and the bottom of the riverbed is mostly sand so I have had a full microdermabrasion to my face and arms and unfortunately, eyeballs! When I was finally back at my car... Which was parked in the shade... It said it was 107 degrees outside. Not as hot as it has been but far more relentless. The hotel I am staying in tonight is lovely! I had a steak for dinner and ordered extra vegetables because I just felt like I needed greens! It's the first proper evening meal I've had in about a week... Which I know is very naughty of me but I just keep forgetting. Right well it's almost sunset and it's really pretty out so I'm going to go and take some pictures and maybe drink some wine!

Advertisement



31st July 2015

fantastic post
Sounds like a brilliant trip, though don't like the sound of the wind and and the effect on your poor eyes. It would be too hot for me I fear

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb