Monument Valley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Monticello
July 24th 2015
Published: July 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Monument valley
My phone died last night so I woke up at around 9:30 rather than the 4:30 alarm that I had set to watch sunrise over the Grand Canyon. I wasn't too bothered though because I figured that the sunrise would be more or less the same as sunset, just from the other side.The drive to monument valley took me back into the national park and skirted along the side of the Grand Canyon. I was stopping every five minutes or so which really slowed down progress but was worth it for the views! Just before leaving the park I was driving very slowly and a baby elk (or something similar) just strode out in front of my car. I grabbed my camera and it just stood there and gave me a dirty look. Unfortunately just as I pressed the shutter a motorbike roared passed in the opposite direction and all I have is a blur of a photo. But if you squint enough... It's clearly an elk. The drive to monument valley took me right across Arizona and just over the border into Utah... This now puts me seven hours behind the UK rather than the 8 I have been up until now. As I arrived in monument valley the sky turned black and the air went muggy and I was sure that there was a big storm coming. The "monuments" we're still very impressive even under the clouds and I joined the line to get into the park to see some more. After being in line for half an hour I pulled up to the booth and showed the lady my pass and she looked at me like I was the biggest idiot to ever walk the earth. She said in her most patronising tone "this is not a national park this is a Navajo park your card is no good here." I apologised and handed over my credit card to pay for entry. She rolled her eyes and said "cash only" I fumbled around in my purse but I was just a couple of dollars short of the entrance fee. She said don't worry you just go inside...... And turn around over there then come right back out!!" Luckily I had to take a scenic byway to Monticello (my home for the night) and I got to see a lot of monument valley from the road. I've driven hundreds of miles today re the course of about 7 hours. My motel is clean and simple and I plan to shower, stretch and snooze... Tomorrow the serious hiking begins!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.048s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb