TWNW #7; Moab


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
July 14th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oh look!Oh look!Oh look!

Look how wrong everybody was!
Gather 'round, haters and skeptics: this is a message for you!

I'm in Moab, the sun is setting, and the rocks are glowing pinkly and towering over the soft green cottonwood trees of the little valley where I've set up camp. There's a stream, too, that's currently babbling and burbling alongside my little temporary homestead.

(You get 10,000 blog points and a free t-shirt if you spotted the little pun I made above)

Anyway you know what else is great here in Moab?

The hammock-tent is.

That's correct, the hammock-tent is strung and it's glorious, rocking and swaying in the evening breeze and patiently waiting to hammock-tent me off to dreamland.

So guess what, hammock-tent doubters? Y'all can suck it!

Nay, y'all MUST suck it. We live in a democracy so I won't tell you what "it" you should be sucking right now - A grape? A watermelon rind? A pebble? - but in the interest of justice and parity you should be sucking on something right now.

Because the hammock-tent is awesome, and I was right, and you were wrong.

The ride out of Santa Fe was excellent, at least once
Tha Mean Streetz.Tha Mean Streetz.Tha Mean Streetz.

Streetz is mean.
I got past Espanola (motto: Ask About Our Property-Theft Installment Plan!). In Durango I decided that lovely Cherry Hill in Salt Lake City would be a ride too far so I shot for Moab and boy am I glad I did.

The rocks here, so pink and huge. Nice little groves and glades and oases, and the people are friendly too. When I got my campsite I left all my stuff there and went for a walk to take pictures and find some supper, and I wasn't even worried about any of it getting ripped off. The buildings are kind of...papier mache-looking, which is disappointing but who cares when you've got all that great scenery everywhere.

I don't know what this means but literally everyone here is a German tourist. It's a little awkward and I know there's nothing intrinsically scary about that but I'm a tiny bit on edge about it, anyway.

Okay, I'm pretty tired and that hammock-tent is calling out to me.

Thank you for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb