CC w Chris Day 14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Midvale
September 15th 2014
Published: September 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

2014 09 15 Day 14



Ate breakfast in HIE, checked oil – was ok.



Left at 7:53



Lot of traffic going in the opposite direction into Salt Lake City. I'm glad I don't have to drive to work anymore.



Utah is basically a very pretty desert with lots of mountains.



We arrived at Bryce around noon and had a picnic lunch before sightseeing.



Bryce is a canyon – there is a road that traverses the top for 18 miles and then dead ends. They suggest that you go to the end and sight see on the way back – that way you are only making right hand turns.



We spent about 3.5 hours stopping at 13 of the 14 viewpoints (places where you could park) and viewed the scenery. Bruce is absolutely gorgeous I took about a million pictures. Because it is about 9,000 feet up Chris had a terrible time walking around. She stayed in the car for the last couple of viewpoints.



Chris said that Bryce was very beautiful, but as usual, after the first half hour, she was pretty much done. She didn't complain at all, and even encouraged me to stop at a viewpoint that I was going to pass up (I was getting tired). I'm glad she did, that turned out to be one of the most beautiful of the 14.



The road was very curvy, and there were no guardrails, and the drop was considerable – basically I was scared to death for the portion of the ride where my lane was the one next to the cliff. There was one viewing area where you had to walk along a path next to a cliff with no barrier, I'm lucky I didn't lose my lunch – it was beautiful, though, I hope the pictures come out and make being scared to death worthwhile.



After looking at all of the vistas, we stopped at the visitor's center to get our National Parks Passport books stamped and look for a wine glass for Chris (I bought a coffee cup at the visitor's center on the way in) They didn't have any wine glasses so we proceeded to drive to Washington, Utah where we will be spending the next two nights. Actually Chris drove and I slept, I was very tired because I was up at 4 am and couldn't get back to sleep, which explains why I am all caught up with my blogs today.



We ate dinner at 6 pm on the way south at Rusty's Ranch House, about a mile and a half outside Cedar City, Utah. The food was much better than what we have been eating of late. Chris has been dying for some good Italian food, not real likely out here, but we tried anyway, and last night ate at an Italian restaurant that was really, really, disappointing. When we get back we are going to to to Spignoli's – an excellent restaurant near our home.



We arrived at the motel at exactly 12 hours and 1 minute after we left the motel in Midvale, Utah.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb