Monticello, UT to Ogden, UT


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Monticello, UT to Ogden, UT


ArchesArchesArches

We two at Turret Arch. I like this arch and its setting the best of any of them I've seen; however, I haven't seen them all.
This was the day for Arches National Park near Moab, UT and then a lot of driving to get to Ogden, UT for the night. The drive was boring, but fine, whereas Arches was, as always, outstanding.

Although our motel at Monticello was pretty basic with thin walls, our neighbours were good so we had a great sleep. The hard part was getting up very early for the trip.

This visit to Arches was really for Les. I was there a couple of years ago and saw what I wanted; however, I found that seeing it again gave me a good feeling. The other benefit of being there before was that I knew where to go to give Les the best views of the place. We were there for about three hours, but that was what we planned and Les was happy with what we saw.

That is about it for the day. Oh I could tell you about the lunch at Price, UT that was a cholesterol special, but tasted wonderful, served by a rather extroverted 8 year old son of the owner/cook of the place. I could also rant on about how much worse the driving
ArchesArchesArches

Les in the Turret Arch with one of the Window Arches in the background.
of others got as we got closer to Salt Lake City or how crowded and at-risk I felt on the freeway around Salt Lake, but that would be too boring.

Instead, have a look at some of the great places in Arches National Park.

(Sorry for all the way points on the map, but that is the only way I could see make the route proper.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ArchesArches
Arches

This was taken from the La Salle Mountains viewpoint, but I'm not really sure what this peak is called. I just liked the look of it from this angle.
ArchesArches
Arches

Petrified Dunes in the foreground and one of the Window Arches in the distance.


Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb