Last Day at Alta, More Storms coming...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Alta
December 31st 2004
Published: December 31st 2004
Edit Blog Post

Me in snowMe in snowMe in snow

It has not stopped snowing. pow everyday
Awoke to bombs again. No interlodge so I had breakfast, grabbed my gear and skied to the lift. I got third chair up and after another race across the traverse I had first tracked in a chute called Stone Crusher. It was wind buffed, but still knee deep and smooth.

Unfortunetly, my heel, which had hurt the dat before due to new boots, was really hurting so I had to stop after 3 nice pow runs.

I was releated to watching the new storm system cover Mt. Superior while sitting in the hot tub. I am now sitting in the lodge and its dumping out. It hasn't stopped snowing for 3 days!! This next storm is rumored to drop another 1-3ft with another, even bigger storm right behind it which will probably bring another couple feet. I leave tomorrow for home. It is very hard, counter-intuitive in fact for me to walk away from this storm. The mountain may hold the best powder day of my life, one which I will not see.

It is also new years eve, the local employees are buying up all the beer in the place and all are buzzing with the arrival
New Years NightNew Years NightNew Years Night

Craziness at the Peruvian Bar
of this new storm. Sage, a pro skier, keeps walking into the lobby and looking out the window to see how hard its snowing. 3-4 inches an hour tonight they say. Interlodge has already been called starting at 6:30am, as a result we leave the Peruvian at 4:45am. Hope we don't get broad sided by an avie while driving down the Canyon.

Alas, I can't complain too much, in another 2 days I'll be flying out to Jackson Hole, Wyoming for 2 weeks. Jackson has not been doing as well for snow, but these next few storm cycles are beginning to hit Jackson. Before I came to Alta they had 2 weeks of dry and now it hasn't stopped snowing for 3 days. I may be missing an epic day in Alta, but I will be chasing down the next big storm shortly. Until then, over and out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

wowwow
wow

cool


Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb