Getting Ready!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Planning, Plotting, and Packing: Three weeks 'til Blastoff!

I officially leave for Japan on April 3rd, from Dallas Airport to Tokyo, Narita on April 4th at 3:05 p.m. I'm officially losing a day in there, crazy stuff to think about!

Waiting right now for my visa to return and my plane ticket to arrive by mail, now I'm beginning to scramble through getting everything of mine together, packed, bills/finances all tidy. It feels terribly overwhelming but I am so excited! A chance to live in a whole new world essentially from my rather confined existence in Brownwood and San Angelo. I'm hoping that I can hop over and see Thailand and Korea while I'm in the area. I really really want to check out Kyoto and Tokyo and Hiroshima. Those are definate travel spots I want to see. I am super thrilled about getting to see the Nebuta festival in Aomori, it all seems so cool! Foreign, alien and awesome!

For the first time in my life I'm having to buy hardcore cold-weather gear. I've never really had need of it before, and the idea of living with so much snow is more daunting than moving to a foreign country. I'm of the opinion that snow is pretty to look at in little glass balls, but not fun to live in. I could change my mind after living in it for a year. This is what this trip really is about for me, growing up and expanding my bounderies and experiences, becoming a more well rounded person.

On the immediate horizon (More immediate than 3 weeks anyhow) Tom and I and his folks are taking a mini vacation to Dallas and Austin. Sites to be seen (weather permitting) are the Dallas zoo, some museums, I'm hoping an art museum and the natural history museum, AND a trip to the Botanical gardens, in particular the Japanese gardens! They were my favorite place as a kid, and I'm hoping to get some good material to compare against for when I hit real Japan scenery!

I'll report on that, and how my crazy packing is going, anyhow, Love you guys! I'll be sending you all links to this so everyone can book mark and watch my adventures. I'll be including photos (dailey) and hopefully video sometimes too!

Peaaaaaaaaaaaaace outttttttttttttt.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb