Finding The Memory


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
April 24th 2023
Published: April 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

During the initial march to Baghdad on March 23, 2003, a small unit at the end of a miles long convoy was separated from the other military vehicles. The news was somber, confusing, and disbelieving.

At that time, that day and that very moment, I was in my heyday as a proud company commander of an Assault Float Bridge Engineer Company. I heard the news that a maintenance company, of regular Soldiers, had been ambushed in the small unknown town of An Nasiriyah. My swagger was frozen at that moment.

The days following continued to unravel as truly tragic. Death and fear tore through the small unit as the unbelievable continued to unfold. Hostages, rumors, rescue missions and for many of us, the knowledge that our unit would be following in their footsteps. We need more training on convoy operations. Why are there no maps for the convoys? How do I keep the Soldiers safe?

This is my blog. I chose to start at this very location of the memorial to show my respect and gratefulness. I learned so many important lessons from that tragic day. Improved training and now the leadership was challenged to face the reality of war. Many lives were saved due to the sacrifice of these Soldiers. I hope to capture the people of the communities that continue to speak their names. They have promised to “Never Forget” and have a mission to honor the survivors.

This was my extended family, a convoy family. These Soldiers were valiant in their actions that day and we should never forget them. It is said that when we forget where we came from, it is common to lose sight of where we are going. For 20 years, every day I still remember where we all came from. Not only in one’s heart do we recall, but the trees planted in honor of the Fallen Soldiers at the Fort Bliss monument continue to grow over the years and serve as a lifetime symbol of sacrifice made by the rescuers, the Soldiers of the 507th Maintenance Company and their loving families.

I really hope that Scout and I can navigate the combination of the impacts of the past and present, through the memories of a nation.

Godspeed

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb