Shopping and BBQ Heaven!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Marcos
May 12th 2014
Published: May 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

BBQ @ Luling, TXBBQ @ Luling, TXBBQ @ Luling, TX

Don eating BBQ @ Luling BBQ. Look Reta, they even gave him a plate. Oh my! :)
We arrived here in San Marcos, TX Saturday after a long and grueling 110 mile drive from Kerrville. (SIC) We had to drive the I10 to the I35 and there were some connectors that we had to catch before getting the I35 and let me tell you what, these Texas drivers were NOT friendly drivers. My husband, who all of you know is a slow burner and very rarely says a cuss word, actually called some woman driver a B- - - - because she would not let us over to get our exit. She actually laid on the horn the whole way around us. She was NEVER in any danger of us hitting her I might add and she didn't even want that exit! She just went right around us and acted like it was no big deal. She was on her phone too. Boy was he hot! Needless to say we missed our exit and had to go to the next exit which luckily did take us back to the one we needed but when we tried to get off on that one there were 2 lanes again and no one would let us get in the far right
Luling, TxLuling, TxLuling, Tx

They paint on the side of the buildings like at home in Exeter. Nice touch.
lane. I told him to just stop this sucker on the freeway and show these Texans that we weren't going to let them push us around again but he didn't have to go that far. He just had to slow down to about 35 and then just go for it. Geez Louise, we have never experienced such rudeness. Sorry to my Texas buddies Jim & Reta for my rant. You know I love you guys. This was out of the norm I know.

When choosing where to stay it was between 2 RV parks. After debating what we wanted to do while we were here we settled on Canyon Trails. When we pulled into the RV park there was a gentleman behind the counter that maybe had 6 teeth. He seemed like a nice enough guy but when I questioned him about staying 4 nights he gave me a puzzled look and said "Oh, (long pause) I can do tonight but after that I think we are full so you will have to go somewhere else after tonight." Don & I looked at each other because we could clearly see that there were at least 15 if no more
Downtown Lockhart, TXDowntown Lockhart, TXDowntown Lockhart, TX

The buildings were all so old in the downtown area. They are still being used for businesses and such. Very cool.
open pull spaces. We just shrugged our shoulders and said thank you then we'll just go to another park. As we were about to walk away he asked, "So do you want to stay tonight?" I almost laughed. I just said no thanks and we walked out. Crazy. We then came to where we are staying. It is called Pecan Park Riverside RV Park. It was in our Big Rig Best Bets. It is, how can I say, a rustic park. Saturday when we pulled in it was packed with college age people and families who were all floating the river. It was busy, busy, busy. It was hot so everyone was floating the river to cool off. Don took a little nap after his grueling drive so I went to the outlets just down the road. They are one of the biggest outlets I have been to. They rival the ones at Cabazon. They have a Dooney & Bourke and a Brighton store. I only went to 2 stores and then came home. I may have to go back again before we leave. 😊 Most people left yesterday and there are only a handful of people left here today.
Streets of LockhartStreets of LockhartStreets of Lockhart

Looking down the street in downtown Lockhart.
It is very quiet now.

Yesterday we went to the little town of Luling, TX and sampled some BBQ. Don had been having fits about wanting to eat some since we got into Texas. It was very tasty and plentiful as you will see in the picture. Today we went to Lockhart for lunch (BBQ again) and then to Gruene, which is a little Hill Country town that we have been to before and I LOVE. It has a very famous Dance Hall where my man George Strait has performed many times in his early career because he has a ranch not far from here in Boerne, Tx. It is also where they filmed the famous dance scene from the movie "Michael" with John Travolta. We then had dessert out on the patio at the Grist Mill which was relaxing and yummy. It was a wonderful day.

Tomorrow they are predicting 100% rain and thunderstorms so I may be cleaning and going to Walmart before we leave for Dallas the next day. Talk soon! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Lockhart, Tx CourthouseLockhart, Tx Courthouse
Lockhart, Tx Courthouse

The old courthouse in Lockhart. It is in the middle of the square.
Gruene, Tx HouseGruene, Tx House
Gruene, Tx House

This is the home of German immigant Ernst Gruene whom the own is named after.
Gruene HallGruene Hall
Gruene Hall

Here is the famous Gruene Hall.
George @ Gruene HallGeorge @ Gruene Hall
George @ Gruene Hall

The shrine to George inside the Hall.
Cactus in GrueneCactus in Gruene
Cactus in Gruene

I just thought this was pretty so I took a picture. It was in front of one of the stores.
Us @ GristMillUs @ GristMill
Us @ GristMill

Having our dessert on the patio @ Grist Mill overlooking the Guadalupe River below.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb