Blueberry Festival 2021, Nacogdoches, Texas USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Nacogdoches
June 12th 2021
Published: June 13th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Old Nacogdoches University BuildingOld Nacogdoches University BuildingOld Nacogdoches University Building

Washing Square Historic Marker
It was hot and humid here, but that is life in Nacogdoches. Since all Texas festivals were canceled last year due to Covid, this years Blueberry was larger then normal. Parking was hard to find so I parked at a business that had an "open" sign. Nearby was the Old Nacogdoches University Building (chartered by the Republic of Texas). I saw an old friend and we had a nice chat about East Texas history. They had a piano downstairs that was played by Chico Marx when the Marks Brothers performed at the Nacogdoches Oprah House in the 1920s. Upstairs they had old photographs and other artifacts from the US Civil War. During the US Civil War the Old University Building served as a hospital.

I finished a nice tour of the Old Nacogdoches University Building then joined the Blueberry Festival and enjoyed the spirit of many people having a great day. The festival centered around the brick streets of the downtown Nacogdoches Square. (Nacogdoches is "the oldest town in Texas", or more correctly the "oldest permanent continuously settlement in Texas".

They had very good live music downtown. The professional Irish bagpiper was unique to this area and we had
Old Nacogdoches University BuildingOld Nacogdoches University BuildingOld Nacogdoches University Building

Chartered by the Republic of Texas
a nice chat about his Irish homeland. There were many good food venders, but I did not attend the festival for food.

Behind the Nacogdoches Visitors Center was a good band playing good old Texas music. I slowly walked around then made a stop in the visitors center. Starting my long walk back to my truck, another band was playing good Texas music. They also played a George Harrison song that I enjoyed.

I made a stop at a downtown cigar shop and had a chat with a few people that I have not seen for a few years. I do not smoke, but I purchased a cigar that I could smoke latter, a little at a time.

Walking back to my truck (everybody in Texas should own a truck) I made a stop at a Christian Motorcycle group vendor for a while. We had a long chat about the downfall of our civilization as seen in the bible and as a result of destruction of our natural environment. (Global climate change is not "fake news".) WE DO NOT LIVE ON A DISPOSABLE PLANET!

I made my walk back to my truck after a wonderful day.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Old Nacogdoches University BuildingOld Nacogdoches University Building
Old Nacogdoches University Building

Piano played by Chico Marks (1920s) at the Nacogdoches Oprah
Roland Jones HouseRoland Jones House
Roland Jones House

completed in 1897
Blueberry FestivalBlueberry Festival
Blueberry Festival

happy people
Native AmericanNative American
Native American

from a reservation near Livingston, Texas
good Texas musicgood Texas music
good Texas music

behind visitor center


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb