Kingtown, Texas, (Nacogdoches County) USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Nacogdoches
August 1st 2020
Published: August 3rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Kingtown signKingtown signKingtown sign

Texas Hwy 226, Southbound view
According to TSHA (Texas State Historical Association) Kingtown was named for land developer Alton King who purchased fifty acres on (the North side) the Angelina River in 1943. A residential community was established when King opened a camping area in 1943. In the 1950s he was selling lots for homes. When they damned up the Angelina River creating the Sam Rayburn Reservoir (around 1960) that attracted many new residents and increased the property values.

I was driving down Texas FM 226 Southbound and saw a sign for Kingtown. I turned West on Nacogdoches County road 552, following the signs for the Kingtown Landing Liquor Store, passing by a private deer hunting lease on the North side of the county road.

note: These free county road maps in East Texas are generally accurate, but sometimes do not jive with what you see.

I made a stop at the Kingtown Volunteer Fire Department and asked if I could shoot their fire trucks, and they said yes. Then before I could leave they invited me into their fire station and gave me permission to shoot inside their station. There was many things of interest inside. Most impressive to me was their
Kingtown Landing alcohol store signKingtown Landing alcohol store signKingtown Landing alcohol store sign

by hwy 226, Southbound view County Road 552
plaque for working on the very large recovery effort for the unfortunate Space Shuttle Columbia disaster. (I was working in Galveston, Texas then.) They confirmed what I herd about a very long-very loud sonic boom as the doomed shuttle entered the atmosphere in East Texas.

Then they brought out the plaque for L R Ekman, the founder of the Kingtown Volunteer Fire Department in 1973.

I was told that the sign for Kingtown was only placed on Texas FM 226 only a year ago. Kingtown was always a community, and never had a post office. I asked about their large wood smoker- food cooker. They told me that they had a nice Bar-B-Que lunch before I arrived. Daaang, I was a day late and a dollar short (LOL).

I passed the boat landing but did not drive down in my borrowed car.

Then I finished my shoot outside of the Kingtown Landing Liquor Store. They just had beer and wine products inside with no rum or other liquor products any more. I do not know when the Kingtown Landing Store was established. They could not sell any spirits there until about 1972 as Nacogdoches County was
Kingtown Landing alcohol store signKingtown Landing alcohol store signKingtown Landing alcohol store sign

by hwy 226, Northbound view County Road 552
a dry county. Many of our SFASU students (including me) registered to vote in Nacogdoches making the county wet. (Hot dang!)

My compliments to the Kingtown Volunteer Fire Department.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Kingtown fire truckKingtown fire truck
Kingtown fire truck

firefighter want-to-be
Kingtown fire truckKingtown fire truck
Kingtown fire truck

with fire wood
Kingtown Fire DepartmentKingtown Fire Department
Kingtown Fire Department

wood smoker-cooker
Kingtown Fire DepartmentKingtown Fire Department
Kingtown Fire Department

fire danger moderate
Kingtown LandingKingtown Landing
Kingtown Landing

antique CONOCO sign


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb