Hours in Houston


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
August 1st 2011
Published: August 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well my journey has begun. After a little over a month or so of some major changes I am finally on my way to Guatemala to start a new chapter. I thought that I would take this long layover opportunity to further explain what I believe that I will be doing in Guatemala. I do have to warn you that I did just get off of a red eye from Seattle so it may not be the most fluid description.

I will be living and working in the town of Coban, Guatemala with the Portland based Not for Profit, Medical Teams International. I will be doing a variety of tasks working alongside the twelve Guatemalan staff in the office. Our work is spread out over 22 communities in the surrounding area. There will be work party groups coming down from across the U.S. to work on various public health projects such as latrine building, water and sanitation projects, and immunization clinics. I will be working as a liaison with these groups and assisting in the logistics and reflection process.

I am very excited about this experience. I am excited to return back to Guatemala and to have the chance to truly be immersed in the culture. Thank you all for your never-ending support as I continue my crazy travels around the world. I hope to be posting more often on this trip as I think that my Internet access will be a little better. Please feel free to leave comments and questions also if there it anything specifically that you would like me to share about I would be happy to take requests. Adios.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.9kb