Houston, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
August 28th 2008
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oil Refinery in Texas CityOil Refinery in Texas CityOil Refinery in Texas City

They here, they're stinky, and they're not going anywhere!
Wow! It's been a while since I have been on here, but I really need to get caught up before my trip out west next June. I plan to blog every day when I am traveling-- let's hope that works out. Life has kept me pretty busy lately, but I would like to pick up where I left on and finish what I started.

After going to the Big Thicket, we headed back to San Antonio through Houston. Now Houston has a good reputation (big city, big money, culture, glitz and glamor) and a bad reputation (traffic, crime, pollution). I saw both sides of her as I often do when visiting. But there is beauty in everything if you just look hard enough.

The obvious: Refineries. Yes, they are here in abundance. But how could we survive as a nation without them? They are unsightly, stinky, and a bit daunting. And they light up the southern Houston skyline like the Emerald City.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Fred Hartman BridgeFred Hartman Bridge
Fred Hartman Bridge

Cool bridge linking Baytown to La Porte. I agree with most who say this bridge is an engineering marvel.
Fred Hartman Bridge CablesFred Hartman Bridge Cables
Fred Hartman Bridge Cables

Close up of the cables


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb