Reflections


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Galveston
June 4th 2013
Published: June 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm here on a beach house with my mother's family, happily isolated on Bolivar Peninsula for a week, celebrating the completion of my years in college, the conclusion of my adolescence, and bracing for the next chapter of life to commence. We are, overall, just celebrating life. In a moment of reflection, here are a few things I've learned over the past few years. Things I want my younger brother to know and a snapshot in my life's timeline that I will one day look back and laugh at my nativity.



1. Seize opportunities, especially when it comes to traveling or trying something new

2. Determine who really matters in your life- family, close friends, coworkers, good bosses. Deepen those relationship because they will last a lifetime

3. Good bosses are hard to come by. My last boss became my mentor, and I'm lucky.

4. When in self- doubt, listen to your parents

5. I noticed that we, at this age, are eager to please our peers especially as we seek to form our own identities. Please no one but yourself.

6. Post high school/ college is a crucial time to establish a foundation for the rest of your life. It's okay to be selfish at this age, do what you have to do to attain happiness

7. Success is measured by levels of happiness. Figure out what happiness means

8. Money spent on traveling and experiences is worth it

9. Have role models, some who you know and some who you don't. Keep up with them

10. Develop and deepen interests in sports, hobbies, etc. Expand your talents every chance you get

11. Let things go. Grudges are toxic, and everyone makes mistakes. We're human

12. Acceptance should be our generation's mantra

13. Live everyday in the moment, but keep a plan. Helps to stay on track towards that happiness thing

14. Fear is a state of mind

Finally, live simply. Like the metaphor in Up in the Air, imagine living day-to-day wearing a backpack of all the things you own and the relationships you have... and I prefer to travel light.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.5kb