Deep south....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » El Paso
November 14th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Since my last blog, our roadtrip has taken us through the Grand Canyon (immense), into Utah to visit Zion, Bryce and Arches national parks, across to Denver, Colorado, where we headed to Rocky Mountain national park, and then to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where hispanic, native American and anglo cultures collide. We left Santa Fe yesterday morning, and by the evening we'd arrived at our current location - El Paso, Texas, a city that sits on the US/Mexican border. Said farewell to Marc this morning as he's heading back towards LA, so I'm on my lonesome once again, and carless. In total I spent about two weeks travelling with Marc. We had an awesome time, and had similar ideas about where we wanted to go, and what we wanted to see.

Tomorrow, I'm planning on jumping on a greyhound bus to Austin. Can't wait to be there as it's supposed to have a really cool music scene. It bills itself as 'live music capital of the world'.

As much as I'm seeing amazing things out here, I've decided that it maybe wasn't the best idea just heading out travelling (for the most part) on the own. Last time I did it was 2 years ago, when I went to Thailand by myself... I think I was in a more carefree frame of mind back then, less full of anxieties, more willing to just chat to strangers everywhere. This time, I have to admit, I came out here at a stage in my life when I was feeling a bit lost. I find myself getting a bit lonely at times, and also getting stupidly nervous just trying to have everyday conversations with people. In a land where confidence is king, this isn't the best frame of mind to be in, and there are times when I feel like curling up in a ball and disappearing. That's not to say for a second that I regret coming out here, or quitting avert. No way. I needed to do that and am experiencing some incredible things out here. Just missing close company, that's all.

Today, though, I completely feel like - and need - an alone day, collecting myself a bit, catching up on sleep, finalising my travel plans for tomorrow.




Advertisement



15th November 2007

Hey man. Glad to hear that all is OK. I get the anxiety man, you should of seen me on the flight out to India because I had to spend one day on my own! But I am sure that in Austin you will befriend some cool people and confidence will come flowing back. Hope you see and hear some good bands in Austin - thats where Trail of the Dead are from isn't it? Anyways, take it easy.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb