USA – ONE STATE AT A TIME


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

TEXAS


It’s like a whole other country





The native Texans are not kidding when they call their state “a whole other country”. This enormous state has ocean front property, mountains, deserts, cotton fields, oil wells galore, a city dedicated to growing the biggest and most beautiful roses, cowboy towns, sophisticated cities, national league football, baseball and basketball teams and the list goes on and on. Because of the size and diversity of this state I have decided to truly do justice to Texas I have to divide it into seven regions – kind of like eating an elephant – one bite at a time. I am still doing “my thing” – highways and town by town with past and current history, what there is to see and do plus where to eat and sleep. This going to be a long blog and hopefully turn into an e-book or two or three along the way. If you like history, that is my expertise and will be giving all the information on the towns and area that I can pull out of the archives. Like to take road trips, then join me while we ”Road Trip” across the U.S.A. from the comfort of your home. Hopefully you will enjoy my highway commentaries about what there is to see and do, what is available along the way for lodging and dining and the monthly events in the area. If you are looking for something or just have a question, please feel free to ask. If I don’t know the answer I will do the research for you and find it. Better yet if you have a story, picture or comment you would like to add to the blog PLEASE feel free to do so. Our next blog will begin with the Big Bend Country, starting with El Paso and following Highway 10 as it angles its way toward Del Rio. We will also four or five more highways and plus skirt along the Mexican borer before moving on to another fascinating region of this huge state.

The native Texans are not kidding when they call their state “a whole other country”. This enormous state has ocean front property, mountains, deserts, cotton fields, oil wells galore, a city dedicated to growing the biggest and most beautiful roses, cowboy towns, sophisticated cities, national league football, baseball and basketball teams and the list goes on and on. Because of the size and diversity of this state I have decided to truly do justice to Texas I have to divide it into seven regions – kind of like eating an elephant – one bite at a time. I am still doing “my thing” – highways and town by town with past and current history, what there is to see and do plus where to eat and sleep. This going to be a long blog and hopefully turn into an e-book or two or three along the way. If you like history, that is my expertise and will be giving all the information on the towns and area that I can pull out of the archives. Like to take road trips, then join me while we ”Road Trip” across the U.S.A. from the comfort of your home. Hopefully you will enjoy my highway commentaries about what there is to see and do, what is available along the way for lodging and dining and the monthly events in the area. If you are looking for something or just have a question, please feel free to ask. If I don’t know the answer I will do the research for you and find it. Better yet if you have a story, picture or comment you would like to add to the blog PLEASE feel free to do so. Our next blog will begin with the Big Bend Country, starting with El Paso and following Highway 10 as it angles its way toward Del Rio. We will also do road trips on four or five more highways and plus skirt along the Mexican border before moving on to another fascinating region of this huge state.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb