Return from Gustav Evacuation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was slow, hot and full of semi road rage by everyone.

Texas and specifically my counties did extremely well in the planning, notification to the public and routes out of the areas were well thought out.

Other little places on the routes were not as prepared. Their stop lights were not a help in dealing with lines of traffic.

This was not as bad as Hurricane Rita by any means!

Then the way back - it wasn't as good. Lots more folks were coming home at the same time than had left together.

The worst towns were Huntington just south of Lufkin and one or two little places farther south. All others I can understand, due to traffic coming to and through those towns from more than one direction.

I had left the Dallas area at 11:15 a.m. on Tuesday and arrived home about 7:45 p.m. Then I had to haul all those containers out of the truck in the dark to go to work the next day.

Needless to say, I was exhausted and ready for bedtime. Having turned my utilities back on when I returned, my bath was lukewarm at best.

Question in my mind now is 'To unpack, Or to stay packed'. The storms in the Atlantic at present are not dying down. Well, it 'Tis the Season' for hurricanes.

Skeleton crew at work today. Most will not return until tomorrow or Friday. Most of our contractor employees and some of our employees have homes in parts of Louisiana. Understandably they may have more things that are storm related to deal with than I did.

I have small limbs to deal with this weekend if I have a day off, but I was blessed with no damage this time.

I hope all had an easier time than in 2005. Damage is damage, of course, and costs money.

Best wishes to all.


Advertisement



4th September 2008

Saludos desde México
Es bueno saber que a pesar de las dificultades que has pasado, el huracán no causó ningún daño y te encuentras bien. Esperemos que Hanna e Ike se conviertan rápidamente en una pequeña lluvia. Saludos y un gran abrazo desde una muy calurosa Mérida.
6th September 2008

Guillo you are so sweet! Thank you for warm wishes.
Hola, Guillo! Gracias por deseos calientes. ¡Estaré detrás en Mérida! ¡Siento seguro allí! Permanezca en contacto y falto le y a todo.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1003.3kb