Austin Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
June 2nd 2011
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Wilson Family in TexasThe Wilson Family in TexasThe Wilson Family in Texas

Tommy, Jimmy, Jenny, Mom, Dad
Hi Everyone!
I commencing part II of my world tour here in Texas. Austin is the capital of Texas, the self proclaimed Live Music Capital of the World, home of the largest urban bat colony in the world and the residence of my little brother. All of these things draw visitors from around the world. Especially Illinois. And did I mention it is about 100 degrees and sunny here everyday? Delightful.
I took the greyhound bus from Bloomington, IL to get here. It took 36 hours and four bus changes to get here. I left Illinois on the 25th of May and got to Texas on the 26th. But since it only cost 87 dollars I feel it was worth the inconvenience. I have more time than money now since I am not working 40 hours a week. I spent a great weekend with my family and ate lots of Texas food. I went to an Art museum and I swam a bit.
In Austin resides the largest urban bat colony in the world. Every night at sunset the bats fly up from under the bridge and go off to frolic and feast on insects. It is quite a spectacle. This attraction is popular that there is a bat hotline that you can call and check what time the bats are expected to ascend (give or take an hour). The bats are pretty awesomely spooky.
Okay, that's about all the interesting things I can think of about Austin. Its a nice place, but mostly I just came here to visit my family before being gone for such a long time.
Next up is the Grand Canyon!

Expenses May 25-June 2:
Transport: bus ticket $87
public buses: $6
lodging: Free (mooched of brothers)
Food: ~40 dollars (+lots of mooching off family)
souvenirs: 7 dollars



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Colorado RiverThe Colorado River
The Colorado River

Not THE COLORADO RIVER just a river called Colorado.
Cowboy ArtCowboy Art
Cowboy Art

At the Blanton Museum of Art on the University of Texas Campus.


14th June 2011

I found your travel log :) I didnt know that you were all in Texas Great pictures I will now check in everyday since I now have found your log Have a great trip !!!!

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb