Home Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
August 11th 2005
Published: August 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Three Children in KeralaThree Children in KeralaThree Children in Kerala

When an Indian child sees a camera, they beg for you to take a picture, and these three were no exception. They live in the village in Kerala where I was staying.
Well, I've made it home. It was quite a journey. I left VKV at 11 a.m. on Tuesday afternoon and arrived in Austin forty-eight hours later. I took a rickshaw to the train station. From the train stationI took a two hour train to Trivandrum. From there it got really complicated. I took a taxi to the airport in the hopes that I could check my two gigantic bags in early so I wouldn't have to haul them around Trivandrum. No such luck. So I got a really crummy hotel room for $3 to store my bags. Then I took a taxi back into the city center. The two high points of Trivandrum are the royal palace and a 5000 year old temple (yes, that's five thousand). Being non-Hindu (and not having the foresight of wearing a sari when visiting the temple, since wearing a sari seems to negate the fact that I'm not Hindu) I wasn't allowed inside the temple. But I took a tour of the palace, which was quite impressive. Every room had a carved teak ceiling. Then I killed a few more hours having dinner and driving all over Trivandrum looking for a few choice Bollywood DVDs
Traditional Keralan ArchitectureTraditional Keralan ArchitectureTraditional Keralan Architecture

A traditional Keralan house in Aranmula
which could not be found. Then I went to the airport, thinking I would just bed down in the lounge and hang out until my flight. It was about eight o'clock, and I tried to go into the airport. In India you aren't allowed even into the airport building if you do not have a ticket. Well, I had an e-ticket, which was apparently a whole new concept for Trivandrum (e-tickets have not caught hold in India, so I was the only e-ticket on a flight of four hundred). Since e-tickets were a whole new ball park, they didn't actually believe I had a ticket, but I couldn't get into the Air India office to prove them otherwise. Thus the security people insisted on walking me into the airport and checking with the Air India office. Once they confirmed that I had a ticket, they informed me that I could only enter the airport three hours before my flight took off, and that my only option was to sit on the pavement outside the airport for four hours with my bags. Well, I had a bit of a breakdown in the airport manager's office, and finally they allowed me into
The Main JunctionThe Main JunctionThe Main Junction

This is the main part of town near VKV, where the tailor, fruit stand, and rickshaw stand are located.
the airport. I attempted to sleep on some of those uncomfortable airport chairs. Finally I got onto my flight. From there it was a fairly smooth trip home, even if it was unbearably long. So now I've been home for about 12 hours. I'm definitely missing India, and I'm also definitely glad to be home. My bed has never felt so comfortable. I took a hot shower this morning, and I have a whole new appreciation for hot water. I was overjoyed at using the washing machine today, as opposed to a plastic bucket. On the other hand, when I put on my jeans this morning, they were so uncomfortable that I immediately took them off, and put one of my Indian outfits on. All in all, I have had an amazing adventure and I'm already looking forward to my next trip to India, whenever that may be. And in a few days I will have a new entry from Puerto Rico about my trip to Peter Island. And then I'm off to college, where I will be studying towards a South Asian Studies degree. I completely adore India, and I hope that I will go back again and again
Tharayil HouseTharayil HouseTharayil House

This is the house I stayed at while living in Aranmula.
in the years to come. I know that I have had the adventure of a lifetime, but I hope that this isn't my only opportunity for such adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My roomMy room
My room

My room at VKV.
Temple ElephantTemple Elephant
Temple Elephant

This is one of the three temple elephants that lives near the house I stayed in. One of them is "mad" and has killed three people, so I couldn't get too close.
Trivandrum TempleTrivandrum Temple
Trivandrum Temple

This is the 5000 year old temple in Trivandrum.
Woodwork at the Travancore PalaceWoodwork at the Travancore Palace
Woodwork at the Travancore Palace

This is a detail of the Travancore Palace in Trivandrum.
The main courtyard of the palaceThe main courtyard of the palace
The main courtyard of the palace

This is the main courtyard of the Travancore Royal Palace.


2nd December 2005

the particulars
I'm exploring the idea of showing up at a wedding Dec. 31 at a location somewhere between Kochi and Trivandrum. I'm sure that if I make it to either location, I'll reach my goal. Question. Any advice on getting there from Austin? Travelocity gives me the option of multiple destinations and others don't, as you probably know. However, unlike Orbitz, it doesn't indicate specifics if problems with data input arise. It doesn't give me a clue about which part was problematic. Anyway, if you get this, your wise counsel could make the difference in my attending or not. No pressure implied. Regards, Clay
12th December 2005

i'm not sure how else to reply to you, so i hope you get this, and i'm sorry i didn't see your comment sooner. i'm a big fan of air india, and they fly into kochi and trivandrum from mumbai. generally, they're also the cheapest option, and they serve excellent food on board. unfortunately, they don't fly out of texas, so take a local carrier to new york, and then take air india from new york to paris and then on to mumbai. if that's too expensive at this point, then take the cheapest option to mumbai or delhi, and then use either indian airlines, air sahara, or jet airways to go from mumbai/delhi to trivandrum or cochi. there are a bunch of new budget airlines like spice air and kingfisher, but i'm not sure that they fly into kerala. anyway, i hope this gets to you on time and you make it to the wedding. happy travels. jenn

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb