Cedar Creek Dragway, Kaufman County, Texas USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Athens
December 26th 2020
Published: December 28th 2020
Edit Blog Post

I departed from Nacogdoches County for a two hour drive to Cedar Creek Dragway. (I made a stop on the way in Athens, Texas to shoot the Henderson County Courthouse.) I arrived at the dragway at 12100 Kaufman County Road 2139. (903-880-3099) I paid the $20 admission fee and I was ready to scoot. (The tract opened for racing at 2 PM; with matched big-boy vehicles reserved at 4 PM.) The track manager was very helpful to give me racing instructions and safety requirements. This is an official 1/8 mile drag racing tract.

This racing was difficult for me at first cuz my front tires had to block out the two sensors that were about ten inches apart. That activated the "Christmas tree" with the green light and I had only a few seconds before my time started. My first two races were a flop before I was ready to race big-time. At 4 PM the tract was reserved for the big-boy vehicles (not street legal) that made very loud noises.

At about 5 PM the tract was open to everybody to race. I would kick in the supercharger on Old Blue and made my best runs on the 1/8 mile tract in less then seven seconds. Around 6 PM it got dark and I drove home. In the spring I will return to race; with my white truck that is faster then Old Blue. This was a big thrill for this old man.

The only negative was that I was the only person there wearing a face mask.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

control tower
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

lost first race
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

Old Blue race
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

1957 chevy ready
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

local fire department racer
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

Old Blue ready
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

Old Blue "winner"
Cedar Creek DragwayCedar Creek Dragway
Cedar Creek Dragway

Old Blue best time
Athens, TexasAthens, Texas
Athens, Texas

Henderson County Courthouse
Athens, TexasAthens, Texas
Athens, Texas

Henderson County Courthouse
Athens, TexasAthens, Texas
Athens, Texas

Henderson County Courthouse Historic Marker


Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb