Preparation for the expedition


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Arlington
June 3rd 2010
Published: June 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

June 3rd 2010

Seven days and counting. The expedition is almost underway. It has taken over a year of hard work and planning to finally reach this point of the voyage. I eagerly await the day Jen and I leave for China. I expect the culture to be unlike any I have ever experienced before. I welcome the change that is on the horizon. It is not in every man's future to be granted the opportunity such as the one I have been given. Wasting the chance to experience life in this way would be a tragedy. I have received complaints about going to a communist country and supporting their economy by studying on foreign soil. I find this to be very hypocritical considering almost all clothing and electronics Americans use come from this communist country. It is also very ignorant to think that all Chinese people like the form of government their country has chosen. History and culture go beyond current political boundaries. It is fundamentally important to understand as many cultures as possible to help us grow in such a diverse country.

This will be my first time traveling around the world. I have dreamed of this since I was a kid. After leaving China I must say goodbye to the woman I love as she returns to the U.S. and I leave for London. I am looking forward to touching down at London Heathrow and meeting up with two close colleagues of mine. Leaving London, we begin our adventure at Silchester excavating the Roman town of Calleva. This will be my first field school and the foundation to my future career. After four weeks of living in a tent it will be time to hit the road with my colleague taking just what we have on our backs. I can not wait to experience Medieval Europe. You can read a book, watch a documentary and look at pictures, but nothing comes close to standing beneath the walls of a castle or sleeping in the middle of an ancient Roman town. No words can possibly describe the overwhelming feeling I get when visiting these places. I am very fortunate to have a close friend going with me on this trip to England. We have been colleagues from our first Archaeology class we took at UTA. I believe our paths crossed for a reason and look forward to future digs and studies together. He is a brilliant guy and it will be a pleasure to siege castles with him in Europe. The road ahead will have many memories never to be forgotten.

More will follow in the days to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb