Korea, Here I Kome!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Knoxville
July 19th 2007
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it seemed as though this day would never come, but I turned around and here it is! Today I depart for the "land of the morning calm" - Korea. I really don't know what to encounter. I have built many expectations in my mind, I have read many books & articles about the country & people, I have talked to people that have been there before, and I have definitely spent many hours planning and getting ready. I have a feeling, though, that things will probably turn out much differently than I expect. Except that is probably one of the greatest things about life - discovering and embracing the unknown.

You might be asking yourself: what is Shawn doing in such a foreign land? Since I'm not in the military that can only mean one thing...I'm teaching English! I will be helping at a summer camp sponsored by my college's sister school (Namseoul University) for 3rd & 4th grade Koreans. I really don't know what to expect and what I will be doing exactly, but I think it will be loads of fun figuring that out.

I will be leaving today at 11am and arriving in Seoul (via Detriot and Tokyo) at 9:30pm on Friday...whoot whoot! The next couple of days are going to be pretty rough for me, especially since I have never been out of the country. I'll just see how that journey turns out.

Stay tuned, and I'll keep you updated!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.2kb