A Day of Rest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Chattanooga
March 15th 2017
Published: March 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Marion County Park

If God can take the seventh day off, I don't see why we can't - so we did! Yesterday was a down day. We turned off the alarm and just slept. Didn't stir until around 9:00. Got up, wrote my post, caught up on Facebook and the news and suddenly it is 11:30. Made a fine bacon and egg breakfast - or more appropriately, brunch - walked the dogs and suddenly... I'm tired again. One of the blessings of getting older - you can take a nap without folks thinking you're lazy.

So we took a nap until about 3 when I disappeared for my shower. We were promised that the showers here were really very good, but I guess we shouldn't expect much for $18/day. The bathroom was huge enough, and the water eventually ran hot, but it just sort of drizzled out of the nozzle - there was more water pressure in Sunday's rain. But I eventually got it done. Then back to the trailer. Joan decided not to brave the cold walk to the bathhouse and, instead, took her shower in the trailer. She can do that - I'm too big to entertain that option.

Since I finished my book the other night, "T. Rex and the Crater of Doom", I wrote up my review of that. Attempted to post to Facebook, but Verizon service isn't so great here. Maybe today. Then, with Joan's help, I found the $11.88 that was making our credit card account not reconcile. Its a big one this month, what with all the camping and tour reservations we've made recently. Money is always a concern around here, but we've decided that we are going to enjoy our retirement while we can, and worry about poverty later - we only go around once. Besides, if you are going to travel, I can't imagine a less expensive option that what we are doing.

That brought us right up to dinner time. Joan made a pasta dinner with sausage in the sauce, and I made a tossed salad to go with it. And there is enough left for a lunch in the future. Weather service issued a freeze warning for the night, and sure enough, the water pipes are either frozen or they turned them off to keep them from freezing. No water this morning.

Walked the girls one more time, then got back in bed for the night. Like I said, lots of rest - it was a down day! But we are headed out here in an hour or so for a day of sightseeing. (17.1.7)

Advertisement



15th March 2017

Need Down Days
We've experienced similar inconveniences on our trips in the summer. No frozen pipes, though. I've signed up for the DRIVEOLOGY program through our auto insurance. The next 100 days of driving will be tracked.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb