Reflections


Advertisement
Published: April 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I was the lucky winner of being pulled aside to be checked by customs. He took one look at my stuffed pack and just asked me what was in it. I said that it was my dirty laundry, and he said, “I’ll take your word for it.” It is a good think that I’m not a cocaine smuggler!
It was a long two days of traveling - I was pretty much sick of transportation by this point. It feels good to be home, but I already miss my toilet paper carrying days where “Donde esta el bano?” is a very scary question and the land of cold showers. I must admit that I think I’ve fallen in love with South America and I can’t wait to return!
Even though it was only 15 days, it was an incredible experience. I learned about someone else’s way of life, someone else’s reality. Now my perspective of my reality will be forever changed.
Thank you so much for all of the e-mails. It made it more fun to share my experiences with the people I care about!

P.S. Don’t forget to check out the pictures I added to my journals, and even better yet, don’t forget to check out the photo gallery (it is marked by a flower symbol). Just click on one of the two options for the gallery to see pictures from Ayacucho and my adventures on the Llama Trek and Machu Picchu.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb