Missiles, Badlands, Mount Rushmore, Custer & Crazy Horse


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very long and tiring day......but one of the best of my trip.

On the way to see Mount Rushmore, I decided to visit the Badlands National Park. When I got off the freeway, I saw signs for the Minuteman Missile National Site. I decided to make another unplanned stop. In the visitors Center, they were previewing a new video that was going to be officially released this weekend. It explained all about the Minuteman program, it’s safeguards and the evnirment of the Cold War that generated the need for the missil system.

The Bandlans was amazing. Besides striking geological deposits, it is one of the worlds largest fossil beds. Beautiful scenery and I’ve enclosed lots of pictures.

Mount Rushmore was awe inspirin. Four great Presidents carved into a mountainside. Very impressive work. I spent a lot f time here staring at the monument and thought about the four meet and how they lead our country.

After I left Mount Rushmore, I drove on Iron Mountain Road Through a recommendation from a guy I met at the Badlands Visitor Center. It was a great drive around Custer State Park. Most of the drive was on narrow roadwith bridges, one lane tunnels, and magnificent scenery.

I ended up at the private Crazy Horse Memorial. It’s a memorial that, like Mount Rushmore, is being cut into the mountain. there will be a whole complex around the memorial including a college and other Indian education opportunities.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb