South Carolina.... I'm South of the Border!


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have officailly seen PALM TREES.... so cool. By the way it was 70 today and I got a little sun to my cheaks!

Spent the night at South of the Border truck stop... must say that was interesting. First of all, do eat the food there. Second, don't sleep there as the trains will keep you up. Third, Gomer Piles brother seems to be the law! (not that I had a run in with the law)

Any way, South of the Border was dead when I got there. I figured for such a tourist trap it would be boomering... more like snoring! But will say they take care of the truckers, got my shower for free this morning! So far this is the only time I had to pull out my licence!

Went to Charleston for the day... spent most of it driving to get there. But we saw a few historical buildings and googled over the palm trees. There is something that always amazes me on trips, Canada has the sign just over the border. BSA jamboree was the patch... and as for the south it's the palm trees!

After googling palm trees, the dog and I went on a harbour cruise... She was pretty good dispite the fact that there were 200 middle schoolers onboard as well. The Captain was smart, the adults to the bow and the kids to the rear and below! Could here the bratts but didn't have to deal with them! Not a bad little cruise...

I'm just outside Savanah for the night. Hoping to see some more great stuff and then be in Florida Saturday....

I'll put the pics up later... bit tired because of a train all last night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSCF0649DSCF0649
DSCF0649

Raven hanging out on a harbour cruise


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb