Driving On An Unfamiliar Road


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Rhode Island » Providence
November 5th 2009
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Rhode Island


Boston ChowdaBoston ChowdaBoston Chowda

Clam Chowda and Lobster Roll! Yum!
7am on a Thursday morning, I arrived in Boston airport and was determined to have some of their specialty dish(es) - New England Clam Chowda and Lobsta Roll. YUM! Then hours later I decided that I am going to rent a car and drivE down to Rhode Island since I have never been. Driving down on Interstate 95 never looked so pretty. There were miles and miles of trees on either side of the road with beautiful fall colors that I usually NEVER see back home in sunny Southern California!

It took me just about an hour to get to Providence and thought I visit Brown University. It may have been gloomy, but it brought a bit of ambiance to the old victorian/gothic look of each building. Then I thought I could make it to the Newport Mansions, but it gotten dark too fast and the toll bridge was $4 so I thought I take a detour to Jamestown. Not much was open and where are all the people??? Apparently its a sleepy town and most were inside in cafes and restaurants. I had dinner there and had what kept me up for the next 10 hours... 2 cups of really strong coffee. The people there were very nice and I realize how much I loved their accents.

Off I go, driving back up to Boston on a dark road by just a map. By the time I got to Boston, I quickly learned that there were so many tolls to pay as you come in to the city. Once I got close to my hostel, it was around 10pm - I was already antsy and frustrated by the tolls I had to pay. What got me even more flustered is having to find parking! Everywhere I go, it's either a 2 hour parking or residential parking only! I finally parked a spot that's 2 hours only until 6pm, but considering it was a Thursday night, I didn't realize it was the night of street sweeping (from 12am to 4am). That's just crazy! If it wasn't for this random woman who stopped to help me out, I would've gotten my rental car towed. I never got this local woman's name, but she was extremely nice to take the time and help me find parking.

As much fun it was renting a car for the first time and driving on unfamiliar road, taking it in to Boston is just nuts.

More stories and pictures on the next 3 days in Boston on another post...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Brown UniversityBrown University
Brown University

The front gates
Brown's architectureBrown's architecture
Brown's architecture

One of the various Victorian and other Colonial style buildings at Brown.
Another Brown's architecture...Another Brown's architecture...
Another Brown's architecture...

I believe this is the admissions building?
Exiting to JamestownExiting to Jamestown
Exiting to Jamestown

Just thought I take a quick detour.
In JamestownIn Jamestown
In Jamestown

...on a rainy November day.
Jamestown street...Jamestown street...
Jamestown street...

Walking around town as it was getting dark and a little rain... I was trying to find a place to eat.


27th April 2010

Places to see and Restaurant
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here in New England since there is so much beauty in the fall. RI has a great mall located in Providence which is great to wander around in if you want a break from driving and need some new duds. The Palisades Mall is a nice place to shop and has a great restaurant called Fire and Ice which is a unique and contemporary restaurant with a eclectic style to it. Could not believe they have such a enormous round grill in the middle of the restaurant ...the chefs cooked in front of us, entertained us and were extremely pleasant... plus I was able to pick out my own ingredients...meats....veggies..everything from different stations! Never saw this before... If you have children it is child friendly an if you have a large group they accommodate you right on the spot...what neat decor....its a cross between contemporary and chiec! You need to check this site out about shopping and eating! http://fire-ice.com/blog/2010/04/eat-till-you-drop/ Hope you continue to come up to visit!
9th June 2010

Great Tips!
Thank you for your input on where to go in RI, Elizabeth. Now, hopefully when I visit there again I have a little more of an idea of what to do there since the first time it was just a spur of the moment plan. :) That Fire and Ice restaurant sounds amazing. There's actually one about 20 miles away from where I live I just found out. I haven't tried it out, but I can't wait till I do! :)

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb