Cup Craazzzyy!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
April 27th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Stanley Cup Playoffs are officially underway and that's probably the only thing keeping me sane during these crazy last few weeks of school. I probably wouldn't have been able to write about this topic after the (gasp!) 8-2 loss on Monday night. Howeverrr, the 3-2 win tonight has definately put me in a better mood. The NHL has been a part of my life for as long as i can remember. When other little girls said they wanted to grow up and be teachers, ballerinas, or moms...I decided I wanted to play men's ice hockey. Ok, so it was a little far-fetched and it never really happened but I never gave up on being a fan.

I absolutely love going to the games! They're always a huge family event with my parents, brothers, cousins, uncles, etc. We get as many tickets as we can and scatter Heenans all over the Wachovia Center. Our different families usually sit in different sections but it's ok becuase we generally get on the big screen(yea, we're those obnoxious fans) and get to see each other there. The most recent Flyers/Rangers game (where we won 4-1), my brothers and I decided to go all out. Without our parents knowing, we shaved my younger brothers head and decided to paint it for the game. I can't say that my mom was too happy, but the paint turned out pretty well. I guess the whole excitement of the NHL and the upcoming playoffs just turned us a little cup crazyy. Anyway, it is clear that this sports industry has a big effect on our family- from my little grandmom sitting in her chair threatening to beat up players to shaving people's heads in the name of hockey. The sports industry has effected so many aspects of our society's life and culture- it is used for entertainment, advertising, gambling, people's careers, merchandising, and the list goes on... Not only does it influence our society as a whole, but also family structures and individuals as well.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb