The Dreaded College Process


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
March 24th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One of my brothers is a junior in high school and he's just starting the whole college process now. Thinking of that whole idea just brings back bad memories. Especially being an indecisive person with no idea what I wanted to do or what I was looking for, this was not a fun experience. I remember having tons of letters and brochures that colleges sent me, as well as all the paperwork from my high school that I needed to complete, the essays I had to write, and the letters of recommendation I had to ask teachers to fill out. At least for me, the whole process- of organizing the different paperwork, making sure I met the numerous deadlines, and ensuring that I had fullfilled all the requirements that each application had- was very stressful and overwhelming.

So, as my brother began his search I couldn't help but feel sorry for him. I started talking with him about different schools, which to apply to, which ones he should visit, etc. I told him he should probably start by looking online. So we went on the computer and he opens up this website that's a part of his high school specifically for students looking at colleges. I don't know if other people had stuff like this when they were searching for colleges but I certainly didn't and I have to say I was pretty jealous. Even though its only been two years, it seems like so much about the process has progressed and seemingly improved and made easier for the prospective college student. I won't say that everything is easier for them, seeing as they do have another section added to the SATs, but it seems like the college process has been made alot more convenient for them than it was for myself at least. This website narrows down thousands of colleges and universities all over the country depending upon one of all of various subjects including: type, size, location, cost, academic majors/minors/concentrations/programs, diversity, extracurricular activities, etc. It allows you to select the schools that you are interested in and holds them with links to their website and contact information for setting up appointments or talking with people from admissions. It also makes a calendar of all the open houses, tours, appointments, and deadlines for early action, early decision, and regular decision for each college on your list. As if thats not enough, they take your SAT scores as well as your GPA and compare it with the norm of each college to show you your general standing in getting admitted. It also has a list of how many students from his high school have applied in previous years, how many were accepted, rejected, waitlisted, and how many ended up enrolling. There's also a section that lists the scholarships you have won and ones that you may be eligible for. This website is soooo convenient and really helpful. I will admit I'm a little jealous that I never had this tool as I went through the process but I'm glad my brother gets to use it becuase it really does seem to make the process much more organized, focused, and convenient.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb