Music Industry


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ryan, Mark, and BraddiganRyan, Mark, and BraddiganRyan, Mark, and Braddigan

Ryan and Mark got to play with one of their favorite artists, Braddigan (a member of the former band Dispatch).
The music industry has changed drastically throughout the years. With new technology for recording, producing, advertising, and distributing, music is more easily accessible. Years ago, if you liked a song on TV or the radio, you could buy their tape or eventually their CD. Today, such a practice is becoming obsolete. Much of the music industry is now done on the internet. The public is divided over the subject. I think making music accessible online has greatly benefitted our society. I know personally I would not have heard of many of the bands I know now. Had I not discovered them, I probably wouldnt have bought their music or attended any of their concerts. I think it is a very successful way of acquiring fans.

It is also beneficial for rising artists who many not have the connections, money, or experience to producde a record in a studio to get their music out to the public and hopefully jumpstart their career. My youngest brother, Ryan, and his friend, Mark, have been playing music and recording for years with equipment in our basement. Years ago, they probably never would have been able to get their music to the public. However, they recently posted their CD online, where it can now be viewed by thousands of people. After a couple weeks of solely family and friends buying their CD, they finally sold one to a real customer. Within a couple of months, their music will soon be on iTunes. I can't imagine that this would have happened as easily had the internet not been a big factor in the music industry.

Check out their CD 😉 It's their first one and they worked really hard! I think it's pretty good but I might have a slight bias. You can find it at: http://cdbaby.com/cd/rhmw

Advertisement



2nd March 2006

I have to agree
The music industry is crying about it because they hired people who didn't grab on to the Internet, plus the Internet makes it harder for them to market their artist. Welcome to America big music.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb