Blast from the Past


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I feel like the media today portrays kids and youth as increasingly lazy, inactive, socially isolated, and dependant on technology. It seems like they focus on the children that become so enthralled with the latest technology that they spend hours in front a computer screen or make a permanent indent in the couch by the TV. I guess some kids do fall into this category especially as technology is advancing, but I have found that childhood is essentially a stable and similar process.

Every week I go to Our Mother of Sorrow’s parish in Philadelphia and play with kids from pre-k to about 5th grade. Seeing them is such a breath of fresh air from what the media portrays our youth as becoming! It’s really refreshing to see that they are VERY much active and enjoy interaction with their peers. I love being around them because they remind me so much of myself and my friends and family when I was younger. As much as I wish I never heard these phrases again, it’s so funny to hear the kids saying things like “talk to the hand”, “I know you are but what am I”, and the very threatening “that’s
Blowing bubblesBlowing bubblesBlowing bubbles

They love doing anything outside!
it- I’m telling!!” They play all of the same games like baby-in-the-air, jump rope, checkers, basketball, house, tag, etc. I absolutely love going here each week because the kids constantly remind me that even though technology and industry continue to develop and change, childhood is fundamentally similar throughout time. While trends like scrunchis, pogs, and Goosebumps aren’t as popular now, most of the games and sayings that were popular when we were younger are still used. It's nice to see that even in the midst of such a technologically advanced society, kids can still be kids.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb