The Wilderness 101


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
August 6th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Team Bike BarnTeam Bike BarnTeam Bike Barn

Vicki & Mark with their Da Vinci tandem at the start.
I don't have time for the full story on our trip up to Pennsylvania to cover the Wilderness 101 this past weekend, but let's just say that it was brutally fun. Liz & I didn't get out of town until almost midnight, and we pulled up to the starting while the race organizer, Chris, was on the P.A. announcing, "Ten minutes! Ten minutes till the start folks! Let's get up to the line!"

I'm working up a story on tandem mountain bike racing, and we were lucky enough to be able to see not one, but two tandem teams in action at the Wilderness 101. Rob and Sarah Lichtenwalner were out there, as well as Vicki and Mark Schow. I also got a chance to photograph Tinker Juarez, probably the most iconic guy in mountain biking today.

I didn't spend my time photographing the race leaders coming across the finish line. Instead I hiked into the trails and set up "light traps:" remote camera flashes in a wireless, TTL network. I got some awesome shots, and I'll be posting more on this page as well as my photo website in the next couple of days.

And Liz, thanks for the help!!! I
Team Bare Naked CannondaleTeam Bare Naked CannondaleTeam Bare Naked Cannondale

Rob & Sarah with their Cannondale tandem at the start
couldn't have done it without ya...



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Liz Watches in AweLiz Watches in Awe
Liz Watches in Awe

Note the remote flashes on the left, the rigid, singlespeed in the center, and Liz in exhaustion on the right!
three on the trailthree on the trail
three on the trail

I was shooting with the fisheye & caught myself in the shot...


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb