Here Comes the Sun...


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

still a kid...still a kid...still a kid...

I couldn't resist playing in the turtle shells at the zoo
The last few weeks have marked the beginning of my absolute FAVORITE time of year: the beginning of spring! I know that spring does not TECHNICALLY begin until next week and that we have still been having a lot of colder weather, but the warm weather that has been interspersed between the cold, windy days has given me hope- I've even started sleeping with my fan on! I mean, I love my IPOD, cell phone, computer, and all my other things that can be considered parts of technology, but few things can make me happier than the first days of warm weather at the beginning of spring.

Last week when I was home for spring break for example, I wore flip flops every day except one (yes, I am one of those people who considers it appropriate to wear flip flops even when it is still too cold for most), and on Friday I spent the entire afternoon at the zoo. Ever since I was little I have loved going to the zoo to see the polar bears and the prarie dogs. Even though the prarie dogs weren't back from wherever they go during the winter yet, it was so much fun to get to spend the first real warm afternoon of the year outside doing something I have loved since before I can remember.

Another thing I love about spring is how energized the campus seems to get. I love walking outside and seeing how many people are just sitting around the Oreo or hanging out in the quad. I love looking out on Austin or Mendle field and seeing non-athletes playing softball. I love how girls stop wearing furry boots!!!! I even love the things that most people find annoying about the changing from winter to spring. I don't even really mind the feeling of "I am about to suffocate!" that is brought on by simply setting foot in the stairwell of my dorm...the bad ventilation simply reminds me that I no longer have to bundle up in strategically planned layers just to walk the short distance to go to class.

All in all, I could not be happier right now. The sun is shining, and I am sitting here in my room wearing short sleeves and flip flops. Ok, I'm a little cold since my windows are open and it is a little windy today, but I don't even care. Spring is coming!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023kb