V for Villanooooovaaaaaaa....


Advertisement
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fans of the Game!!Fans of the Game!!Fans of the Game!!

We LOVE Nova basketball!!
This week, I wanted to write my blog on TV, but I didn't want to sound like some lazy person that sits around watching garbage all day. The truth is, my TV is hardly ever on, but the fact that I can turn it on at any time on any day and find out what is going on in the world is pretty convenient. Yes, newspapers (and now news websites) do the same thing, and some may argue that news websites are actually better than news on TV. I suppose in some senses, those people would be right. But it is so nice to be able to turn on my TV when I am getting ready to go to class, and watch the news while I am doing something else at the same time. You can't do that with something you have to read. People are so busy today, and putting the news on TV allows us to multitask significantly better than we can if we have to read newspapers or websites. Also, with TV, you can see live footage of something that's going on, for example, on the other side of the world. But ok, remaining informed is not the ONLY reason I like TV.

So, maybe I'm a little bit addicted to reality TV and all those shows on VH1 that make fun of everything under the sun, but I promise, all of that is only to pass the time when I'm really REALLY bored. No, the reason that TV is so important in my life right now is that I am a student at Villanova University during the 2005-06 basketball season...need I say more? Because of TV, I never have to miss a game and I always have a good seat even when I'm not there. It's hard not to be a fan right now (although you do have to laugh at the people who didn't care until this year when they realized we were REALLY good). It is so exciting to watch these guys that I actually go to school with, one that I even have class with, and see them doing something so remarkable. And television makes it so much easier.

I don't mean to sound like a couch potato, but I really think that TV has contributed a great deal to our society. Not only are we much better informed because of it, but we are also entertained AND we can watch our favorite athletes doing what they do best :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb