Just trying to keep up...


Advertisement
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A few weeks ago, my Bio professor pointed something out to me that I had never noticed before: technology is moving significantly faster than we are. At this point, we have the knowledge, resources, and capabilities of doing so many things that were unimaginable not long ago, but the only problem is that we have no idea what to do with any of it. Is cloning ethical? Are weapons that could wipe all of us out really necessary? And here's another issue: it isn't just the big stuff that is causing problems. We are currently living in the age of electronic media; computer knowledge is vital now in school and beyond. It is so important, in fact, that my Elementary Ed concentration requires me to take a course on how to use a computer. At first I thought that was insane because I've been using one for as long as I can remember, and I'll admit that I'm still a little bitter. Most of the girls in my class (myself included, and yes the class is all female) have grown up with computers in our homes and schools, so there is very little we can get out of an hour and a half dedicated to the use of Microsoft Word. There are a few people in the class, though, such as the two older women who hardly speak English and have an extremely difficult time understanding the professor who are really getting something out of the class. I guess my point is that I think it's amazing that we see the computer as just a regular part of everyday life, and yet it has gotten so complicated that even the simplest of programs needs to be explained in a classroom (yes, I have learned a FEW valuable things). I'm willing to bet that even those who see themselves as "computer whiz"es could probably get something out of this class. And if that isn't proof that technology is moving too fast for us, I don't know what is. We see a computer as something we use every day, and think nothing of it, and yet I am still taking a class on how to use the simplest of programs because the bottom line is that the average person really does not know how to use all of their features.

Yes, it is exciting to think of all the things we are capable of doing, but it is also a little scary to think of what is next. Science has already, in my opinion, gone too far. I'm sure it will never end, but I wonder if it will ever slow down. Or maybe the technology craze will somehow get so out of hand that it actually propels us backwards. At least if it did that we would have time to catch up.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb