Transportation in the Republic of Georgia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Pittsburgh
September 23rd 2014
Published: September 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Transportation has always been an interesting topic for me to discuss with friends.

My first car was a Chevy Cavalier that met its ends far too early, 2010 to be exact, but I guess it was a 1996 model.

But I digress - my expectations for transit in Georgia are limited.

From what I have read the biggest threat is the speed of Georgian drivers and the lack of rules they follow. I will be paying attention the drivers to confirm with you, the audience, if I can independently attest to this statement I have seen on several travel blogs.



Here is a excerpt from a website describing the type of transport I should expect,

Most of the transport in Georgia is done in one way or another by this minivans called marshrutkas and they have their good and bad points. Their good points are that they are much faster than normal buses as well as they dont stop nearly as often along the route. The bad points being that they are crammed and speed excessively running the risk of getting into an accident. Another bad point is that most of them are labelled in Georgian and they dont have shocks making for some bumpy roads.

http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/p/m/17d5de/




I hear most Georgians drive or take a bus most places, and biking is limited. I suppose I will have to leave the 10 speed in Lawrenceville for this trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb