Around the World with Jay and EMay


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

me and mister dukesme and mister dukesme and mister dukes

Would love to travel with him, but for his sake I think I may not. HE isn't wanting to see the world (or live in quarantine for a year), so he may be with my mom for a while.
"If your location does not exist, click add location"

I believe I have a partner in travel for the whole of the trip now. My friend Jason is perhaps going back to school next fall, so I've been doing my best to convince him. Not only because I think he'd have the time of his life, but also because I know he would be super to travel with. Namely: he likes hiking, he's not afraid of trying new things, he's great company, and he's already got some good places in mind. Like Senegal. I don't know much about it personally, but I guess I'll let him do the research on that one.

Where do I want to go?? Well, it's looking more and more like we'll start in Malaysia and work our way up through Thailand... to Calcutta to see Cassandra, with whom we may go to Nepal with. Then down to Hydrabad (India) where we meet up with Ali, with whom we may go to Rajhastan with. From there, it's up in the air, although I'm leaning towards going to Turkey, North through Russia and into Scandinavia to visit relatives, and then down through Europe. From Spain to Morocco, down to Senegal and perhaps then backtracking to Egypt and up to Turkey again. However, from West Africa, we may just head back to the Americas, starting either in Brazil (closest) or Chile (easiest to get back without flying again for a while). Have friends in Peru and Costa Rica, also in Mexico (where we'll go to the Yucatan and some Mayan ruins at least).

Well, I thought I was going to write a lot more but I'm tired and it's time to figure out how I'm getting to DC tonight. And it's one month until my birthday! Yay!

Much love and more from the road,
emay

Advertisement



10th June 2005

A Rumi at the Top
Found the journal by searching "eMay Live Journal" on google. (I was obviously bored.) I love the pic of you and P. I will of course miss you when you leave, but I also can't wait for you to go so I can share the adventures vicariously. You and Jason will be perfect traveling companions. - Just Me
24th June 2005

Well, I'll be...
Guess who i googled today? I tried to call your former house--disconnected. Ditto on the cell phone. "Yikes," i thought, "Was my dream of keeping contact with this tantalizing spirit really just a dream?" But no, the internet had other plans. Was it you who was explaining that Timothy Leary--yes, it was--thought that the internet was basically the whole world tuning in, turning on, and dropping out? While Mr. Leary's remains are orbiting far over head (some planet with sentient life, no doubt), i get the most peculiar feeling. I hope your life goes well, as a Zen teacher might say. I'll look forward to every morsel of news, and for now i guess i'll bookmark your blog. I have a feeling it won't be long now before you log on again--or is that a craving? Safe passage, Tom

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb