White's T Trip


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's been a week since last entry. Again with Ernie Spittler leading the way, progress has been made. The 1913 T has not been pulling very good on the hills. The one change I made since last year was, I had the E-Timer reprogrammed to a new curve as a result of a Dino test. It was to help pull hills better. I just installed the newly adjusted E-Timer, results were it was not as good pulling hills as before. Ernie said the timing has to be rechecked. This made some difference but did not solve the pulling problem. After changing plugs and carb., Ernie decided to take a straight thru carb. off one of his T's he knew was good. A straight thru carb. has more air flow thru it and I think it requires more fuel. The 13 T ran very rough, not getting enough fuel. Ernie said it has to be from the carb. back to the fuel tank. The screen in the sediment bulb was clogged. It had a fair amount of fuel flow out the line which we thought was enough. Took sediment bulb off tank and took it apart , screen was very clogged, took screen out and tried it, result ran very strong and pulled hill very good, new bulb was installed. Replaced carb. back to NH and put champion X plugs back in. Next retightened rear axle nuts, adjusted Watts clutch. Tuesday, Ray's Upholstery patched the 3 holes in the roof and went to AAA for maps. Today took 13T to get the toe in checked and set. Got caught in a heavy rain. When stopping it was hard to find neutral, car would stall or wanted to drive forward. I drove out to Ernie's to get it checked. Nut on the linkage was turned loose about 1/4". Tightened nut, problem solved. One more day until we leave, what will happen next to fix. Tomorrow is oil change, making a list of parts and tools packed under back seat and packing car ready to leave Wednesday am. Time to take my shower and get some rest.

Advertisement



12th July 2013

Being the youngest white I alway had interest in what my grandpa (Jacque) was doing. This time it was a little shocking when he said \"I\'m going to drive the model T to California and back!\" My first reaction was \"your crazy! But after a couple weeks I KNEW he would be okay because he and my grammar have such a drive to make it out and back safe! This was my grandpa\'s dream! And I\'m so honored to see him and my grammar do it! I love you both and I know yous can make it so never give up guys!!!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb