Going solo on the East coast


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.9522, -75.1624

The farewells were hard. Had to set lots of alarms to make sure that I was in the foyer of The Aspens for the 5.30 am departure for the marathon journey to Philadelphia with an expected arrival time of just after midnight.

Lots of cuddles for Mindy and reassurances that our White Christmas adventure was just months away. A glance back and a wave and the journey had begun - this time I was heading down the mountain in a 10 seater shuttle bus, with a view just as spectacular on the Sea to Sky Highway as it was on the first bus ride up. Also the first ride either up or down the mountain that I have enjoyed without getting sick. It was almost a "normal" car ride. Best way to travel. (Mental note for December.)

I think I may have been a "tad" over eager in the arrangements to get down the mountain becasue on arrival at the International airport I was way ahead of schedule and was there before the staff and had plenty of time to rearrange the luggage before checkin.

But once the jurney started, thanks again to Sharyn and Bleakley Travel, all the pieces fell into place and I moved through checkin and checkout to find myself in Philadelphia and checked in just after 1 am.

And then I realised "I am officially back at work!" Can't complain though, my first day at work saw me at the registration desk of ISTE 2015 - the largest IT Educators Conference in the world. What a start.

It was fantastic to be totally anonymous. I knew no-one. No-one knew me. I could wander and explore - could ask questions - make observations and listen. Loved every keynote and made strong connections to possibilities and potentials - was inspired by the poster presentations that featured staff and students showcasing their success stories - revelled in the hands on workshops to try, to play and to fail in order to learn - and was challenged by the thinking in the leadership lighthouse.

Each day at the conference was an absolute gift. I realise how fortunate our school community is with the opportunities we have for learning. I have affirmed that we are providing exceptional, valued opportunities for our students and I have had the opportunity to think about a range of new options that would complement and extend our programme.

The professional interactions of the 6 days at the conference have been the launchpad to what I am predicting will be a year filled with change, growth and opportunity at JPC. Feeling so privileged to have been part of ISTE 2015.

Can't believe the atmosphere at the closing keynote. The live band had the arena rocking. At one stage the organisers threw ISTE tshirts out into the audience. This caused pandemonium as 21 999 delegates stood up in the hope of catching the freebie. There was no point me standing up - too short, can't see, I'd be dangerous. Still can't believe it - in all this rush and push and screaming, one of the shirts flew out of the spotlights, hit me in the head and landed in my lap. WINNER. Shame it is was an extra small - will need to find a recipient at home.

Did I get a chance to be a tourist? Well, not really. Each day that I was not hampered by a storm or a mini typhoon, I walked the 4 kms back and forwards from the venue taking in the sights and enjoying the history of Philadelphia. The conference started each day at 8 am and the last session was 7 pm on most nights, with one night a 9 pm finish.

I am not much of a tourist on my own - I miss Mac! Need his eyes and his confidence in managing the transport options.

Found the best donuts in the history of man - salted caramel purchased from the Farmer's Market. Had been advised by Nic, Paul and Chris to try the Philly Cheesesteaks. I lined up for 50 minutes for this treat and so did lots of other people. I had fun in the lineup - chatting with everyone around me - was a little like Expo 88 in Brisbane. The breadroll with steak and cheese though was probably the worst thing I have ever tasted. Highly over rated and not a recommendation from me. I just don't get that one.

Think that the tourist side of Philly will have to be covered "in the future" with my personal guide.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb