Internet


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Philadelphia
February 23rd 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was so tired last night because my evil teachers wanted us to analyze 18 graphs for organic chemistry and write a detailed lab report on our analyzes. Being a commuter, it's tough not being able to wake up 30 minutes before classes start. Instead, I have to wake up at least 2 hours ahead of time just so I know I have enough time to get ready (which isn't much) and enough time to get to the train station so if the trains run late, I'll still be early to class. Getting in about 4 hours of sleep lastnight. But if it weren't for the internet, I would've probably taken alot longer to complete that lab assignment, only because I left my lab manual in school. I was able to find all the information I needed on the good ol' internet.

People have become so reliant on the internet to do everything, from communicating, shopping, writing emails, entertainment, research and so on and so forth. I remember a time when I was without Internet for more than three weeks. In the United States, I believe this qualifies as cruel and unusual punishment (Amendment 32? Thou shall have consistent, speedy Internet? My constitutional savvy escapes me). I think I could live without the internet but research, shopping, and casual conversations would be alot more difficult. AOL's instant messaging has allowed acquaintances to keep in touch as well as close friends and family. I love how you can say Hi to someone on AIM and not worry about the awkwardness of what to say next because both of you are probably occupied with something else. Being able to shop from the comforts of your own home and PJs is the best. I could preview whatever I want to see from my favorite stores and go to the store to buy it or have them ship it to my house. Or I could just shop and compare prices online instead of driving from store to store, wasting a day's time and gas money.

The thing about the internet that worries me most is that because there are so many things you can do and find on the internet, it keeps me from doing what I have to do sometimes. There are so many things out there that I would like to explore but there is no time for that. Procrastination gets the best of me and the internet just adds to my bad procrastination habits. I get side tracked sometimes but it's alright as long as I get my work done and by the end of the day, I am still entertained.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.1kb