Once more into the Breach


Advertisement
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, folks, it's time once again for my standard pre-departure entry. I'm currently in Philadelphia, working at the same law firm I worked at over the summer, seeing Brian, earning some money, and getting everything together to go to London School of Economics (henceforth, LSE) for the year. My flight leaves from Newark Saturday night, and I'm very excited (and a little apprehensive). Honestly, though, at this point my biggest fear is that for some reason or another I'll be turned away at the airport. I've gotten my student residency permit, but they still require you to show letters from LSE, my home school, and my parents proving that I am enrolled in a program and that I'm not going to be a burden on the extensive British welfare system, and I'm afraid that if even one piece of the large amount of paper I need is missing they'll send me back. Realistically, that's not going to happen, but I have to have something to be anxious about, no matter how irrational it is.

I'm also nervous about getting my large amounts of stuff from Brian's dorm here in Philadelphia, to my dorm, there in London. Brian is, sadly, going to a family funeral in Toronto, and as a result my dance teacher has very kindly offered to have me stay with her on Friday night and to leave from her house, which simplifies things. She lives closer to Newark, and I would only have to take one train instead of the two I usually have to manage to get to the airport. I've also been pouring over Tube maps, trying to figure out which stations in London are wheelchair accessible so that I can get my rolling bag in and out of them....you can tell it's been a slow couple of weeks at work that I've got almost the entire Zone 1 (central London) map committed to memory.

Anyway, I look forward to letting you guys know more from London, including picutres of my dorm, which is just north of the British museum in an old Georgian townhouse! Next time I write I will have taken up residence on a new continent! Until then...

Advertisement



28th September 2007

wheeee
this all sounds super exciting. HAVE FUN!!! i'm sure you'll get through fine and have all your paperwork and everything. hope to see you sometime within the next year...maybe?

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb