Flying North In the Fall


Advertisement
Published: September 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


When September arrives there seems to be a yearning to wonder. I didn’t follow the birds this year, I did the opposite. The coast of Maine and Nova Scotia has been calling me for a few years now so this is the year that it will happen, or not. My niece, Margie, was able to join me in the 3rd week of Sept so that determined the date of departure.



I left Sept 20 at 9:15 am and headed for I 84. I continued on 84 into Mass. Then 495 connecting to 95. The roads were all interstates and in fine condition and I even lucked out with the lack of hectic traffic.



I must digress a bit. When I left home, there were some trees just starting to change from green to a gray rust color, the prelude to brilliant oranges and red. As I traveled north and east the elevation increased and there were some trees that were brilliant. Very few, but preview of coming attractions.

As I went across the Delaware it was extremely muddy and higher than it has been the entire summer. We had 5 to 7 inches of rain the day before so there was a lot of runoff. Then I saw them. The magnificent elm trees. I remember them as a child in NJ but most of them have died since then from a disease.



Oscar was a wonderful traveling companion today. He rode shot-gun for a while and then was content to lay in his bed between the seats. I stopped 3 times and walked him once and he was content with that. But when I slowed down and drove slowly in the campground, he couldn’t stand it anymore. It was walk time.



When we arrived in the campground I had to choose my site but thankfully there were many available. We are staying 2 nights so I chose a site near the bath house with not much consideration to privacy.



It was 5 pm and I just couldn’t waste the 2 hours of sunlight left so we headed for the beach. It was too far to walk so we drove and found parking and explored. Pictures…



Dogs are not allowed on the beach so we had to walk around and explore inland a bit. As we were walking I saw a man with 5 dogs and asked him where I could walk the dog on the beach. I got directions and was going to explore that beach but the sun was setting so I opted to shop for dinner and settle in the campground before dark.



I found a market and then a vegetable stand so I was set.

Dinner was chicken and corn on the cob (the best this year) that really hit the spot. Then a walk in the campground before total darkness and home to Pennelope.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb